We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Island Gateway Holiday Park

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Island Gateway Holiday Park to your Saves list
Island Gateway Holiday Park
3.5 of 5 Lodge   |   Shute Harbour Road, Jubilee Pocket, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Port Douglas, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Enjoyable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Just a quick stop over while passing through, my room was really clean, pre arrival information was good and because I arrived late my keys and resort map was thoughtfully left where I could find it late at night. The resort is close enough to town but also far away enough away so the clubs don't keep you awake.

Thanks Island Gateway

Stayed May 2015, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    20
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
5
25
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Maryborough, Australia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed for three nights in a ensuite cabin. We opted for an older cabin and was pleasantly surprised. Was clean and had everything that we needed, and very spacious. Close to everything, a IGA and a pub across the road that has great food. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Our only complaint was that the free wifi didn't work unless you were near the office.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ali S, Public Relations Manager at Island Gateway Holiday Park, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are thrilled you enjoyed your time at Island Gateway. Our housekeeping staff take great pride in their work and I have passed on your feedback - needless to say they were over the moon. Our apologies however about the WiFi. It is an ongoing issue that we work on daily to rectify. Unfortunately, the provider isn't as concerned as we are! We hope you will visit us again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airlie Beach, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2015

We travelled 3,000 km by car to visit our son on daydream. We started with a few days booking, extended another 2 nights and extended twice more. Stay 10 nights all toll. My wife and I could not move from this superb holiday park. Ideal location away from the noise but within easy walking distance to the many restaurants and night clubs. Modern and fresh and clean toilets and showers. Plenty of cooking tops and bbq plates, and more than enough seating in the kitchen. The grounds are perfectly lit up with lights and lovely green grass and flats grounds. Enough lighting for my wife to walk to the toilets at night without waking me up to escort her. Lolol. No need for torches. The staff were bright, helpful, and very friendly, and they love a chat and those who complained about mosquitos, we had no problems at all. The lighting in the grouns drew them away from us. To all the staff, Thank you for a wonderful and pleasurable stay.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ali S, Public Relations Manager at Island Gateway Holiday Park, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you so much for your glowing review of our park. It sounds like you love it as much as we do. We can't wait to welcome you back again one day soon. It really is paradise as you say.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2015

We had the tent already set, when booked it sounds funny to spend few nights on that but after 3 nights we had terrible pain from the mattress, we didn't see than sheets pillow etc. was not included and can't be hired so we had to find a place to buy them (just for 3nights) around 9pm (almost impossible).

Good thing was they leave an envelope with our keys on the front office because our train was in late and they were closed.
For the location if you're walking it takes around 15~20minutes to be in the city center.

showers and toilets are ok but more than half was closed from inside without anybody and only few ones open so you may wait sometimes...

There is a swimming pool clean and not too busy and a bird feeding around 4pm everyday.

Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ali S, Public Relations Manager at Island Gateway Holiday Park, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Our apologies that things didn't appear to go as planned for you. We strive to make our guests feel as comfortable as possible. On this occasion your experience was definitely not up to our usual standards. If you are in our area again, please visit. We would love to make up for your previous stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2015

Loved it here very large grassy areas to park with benches and tables dotted around! Lots of shades areas. Lots of lovely birds (can be loud at times) but are beautiful to look at. Large kitchen with hot plates, BBQ plate, kettle, toaster and microwave + fridge. Toilets and showers large and clean. Laundrette with clothes line to hang out laundry to dry! However lots and lots of bugs everywhere which are a bit annoying ants and Mosquitos and flies but this cannot be helped not due to the park at all just nature! Staff friendly, and helpful :) a little far from the Main Street but can catch a bus or walk about 25 mins, supermarket 2 mins away! good stay would recommend. We stayed in our campervan unpowered with 2 of us for $27 (normally $30 but we had a jucy camper so got tourist discount)

Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ali S, Public Relations Manager at Island Gateway Holiday Park, responded to this review, March 5, 2015
Thank you so much for your glowing response of our park. We love our surrounds too and strive to make the gardens breathtaking. The ground staff will be thrilled to hear you appreciated their hard and ongoing work! We cant wait to see you again very soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon, UK
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2015 via mobile

We stayed in a self contained chalet. It was big enough for 4 and very comfortable. The kitchen had all the basics you needed and overall we were happy. The pool is lovely and the bird tables are filled at 4pm & is fun to watch. What affected our stay was firstly the terrible wifi. We couldn't get it in our chalet but even going to areas with better signal, such as reception, the internet would go down for hours at a time. The offer of 'unlimited' wifi therefore didn't materialise as it's hard to get signal long enough to do anything & this really inconvenienced us. Staff said even their systems are slow/work sporadically so the system appears to need upgrading. Secondly there was an ant problem in the chalet. We're fine with a few bugs & just accept that this comes with holidaying in tropical climates. But this was the worst we'd seen in 4 months of travelling round Asia and Australia. Several times a day we were trying to get rid of trains of ants in the kitchen and across the walls.

Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ali S, Public Relations Manager at Island Gateway Holiday Park, responded to this review, March 5, 2015
We cannot thank you enough for such an amazing review.

We are so happy to hear that you not only enjoyed your stay and had a fabulous time utilising the resort facilities and discovering the surrounds.

We apologise for the inconvenience caused with the WIFI - it has been upgraded however it appears the region is a 'low' spot and this problem is unavoidable. We have, as a result of your feedback, been in touch with our supplier and they ensure us that they are doing everything they can to prevent this occurring in the future.

Again a huge THANK YOU from everyone at Island Gateway!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Netherlands
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2015

We stayed in one of the motel rooms at the park. Great room, enough space, clean and hot water in the bathroom.
The park is excellent: lot of trees, lawns, birds and good faciliities. Like toilets, laundry etc.
We stayed one night before our sailing trip and again when we got back in town.
The motel room feels like you're in a resort, not in a holiday park.
Pool area is also OK.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ali S, Public Relations Manager at Island Gateway Holiday Park, responded to this review, February 25, 2015
We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Our main focus at Island Gateway is to provide you with the best possible options for a great holiday experience.

We hope you will come to visit us again - perhaps on your next sailing adventure!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Island Gateway Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Gateway Holiday Park

Address: Shute Harbour Road, Jubilee Pocket, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Airlie Beach > Jubilee Pocket
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Jubilee Pocket
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Island Gateway Holiday Park 3.5*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Island Gateway is the closest Holiday Park to Airlie Beach in the magnificent Whitsunday's and is the perfect launching pad from which to discover pristine sailing waters and the wonders of the Great Barrier Reef. With an extensive range of accommodation styles and modern facilities to suit all budgets, you will find the perfect place to escape, relax and unwind. Our welcoming staff have a vast knowledge of the local area and are happy to provide you with information on the best possible way to make your Whitsundays holiday one to remember. To make things even easier, they can even make the booking on your behalf. If you have a curious mind, are looking for adventure, or have a passion for food and wine, we'll find the perfect experience for you. The Whitsundays have it all: Snorkel the magnificent reef and discover a whole new world underwater with 1500 species of fish and 400 types of coral. Go sailing and discover the 74 islands of the Whitsundays. Hike through the National Forest on the Whitsundays Great Walk or visit the stunning Cedar Creek Falls. Get pampered and relax at a day spa. Ride a horse, fish, take a scenic flight, enjoy great food and wine…. the possibilities are endless! If you want to sit back and relax, take advantage of the facilities at Island Gateway, there are ample things to do: Soak up the sun, cool off and make new friends at the pool. Share travel stories with fellow adventurers in the camp kitchen or hand feed the lorikeets at 4.30pm daily. Challenge your family and friends to a game of tennis or mini golf. Airlie Beach offers shopping areas which are open seven days a week. Each Saturday the foreshore parklands transforms with bustling market stalls selling a varied range of local fresh fruit and vegetables which are second to none, art and craft stalls and everything else in between. Purchase a unique Whitsundays gift, keep your eye out for the up and coming designers and enjoy the many Cultural, Food, Wine and Live entertainment experiences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Island Gateway Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Island Gateway Holiday Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.