We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Garden setting perfect for Italian food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Simpatico Jamestown

Simpatico Jamestown
13 Narragansett Ave, Jamestown, RI 02835-1140 (Formerly Trattoria Simpatico)
+1 401-423-2000
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 16 restaurants in Jamestown
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
RI
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Garden setting perfect for Italian food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

The Italian inspired menu is full of sea food and pasta. Our party of six had several different dishes and appetizers all of which were excellent. The house wines were good but nothing out of the ordinary. What was extra ordinary was the outdoor garden setting on a beautiful Labor Day weekend. The prices are reasonable for the food and ambiance. I made a reservation well in advance and the place was full. The only weak note was the service. Perhaps because it was busy and the server was very inattentive. This is a place worth stopping for to or from Newport.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

65% Recommend
    56
    35
    16
    22
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Kingstown, Rhode island
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Swordfish, rare medium or well”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We had been to this restaurant many times over the years. It once had the best calamari around but two years ago it tasted as though it had been reheated--greasy and limp. After a long hiatus we decided to try it again in mid- August. One of us ordered the pasta special a dente. It was served al dente but with no sauce to speak of. One of us ordered the swordfish from the regular menu. The first clue about making a mistake was when the waiter repeatedly asked if it was to be rare, medium or well after it had been made clear that it was to be cooked through. It was served overly well cooked with a mango salsa which might have been good if the mango had been ripe. It was hard as a rock and inedible. A special appetizer that night was a fried, stuffed squash blossom dish that was to have two blossoms and we planned to share it. The ones that arrived were so uneven and small in size that it was pathetic and all for $7.00, half the originally quoted price of $14.00. Bread finally arrived after the main course and after two requests. Water had to be requested several times. The waiter never checked back after the main courses were delivered and the dirty appetizer plates remained on the small table throughout the meal. This restaurant thrives on the summer tourist trade and I am told that it is better in the winter when the tourists are not around. So far it has struck out twice and there won't be a third time despite positive reviews from the summer trade.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan, NY
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very Nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Great food and service. Waitress was friendly. Music was relaxing, food was delicious. Excellent value. I'll definitely return.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, Rhode Island
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“You will like the experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Very nice atmosphere and the bar staff are to notch. If you have an expresso martini have johana make it - the best. Good food , good portions and fun relaxed atmosphere.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Long Wait”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

We were a party of six so we had to wait awhile for a table - I strongly recommend reservations! After being seated the service was quick and everyone was satisfied with his or her order. This seems to be the popular spot in town for dinner, drinks with friends and just generally hanging out. If you find yourself in Jamestown I would recommend stopping in for a bite to eat. But do make those reservations!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Simpatico Jamestown also viewed

 

Been to Simpatico Jamestown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Simpatico Jamestown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.