We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stripped Bass was too good to eat.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chopmist Charlie's

Chopmist Charlie's
40 Narragansett Ave, Jamestown, RI 02835-1166
401-423-1020
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 16 Restaurants in Jamestown
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Aurora,Ontario
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Stripped Bass was too good to eat.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

I have never had fish that tasted so good in my entire life.Our entire meal was exquisite.I would drive back to Rhode island just to eat at this establishment again!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    34
    13
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Only looks like a dicey clam shack”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

I've eaten here for years, its a long time place to eat in Jamestown. From the outside, actually from the inside too, you would think its kind of like a beach dive bar that serves food. You'd be wrong, the food here is excellent. On a recent visit we had a range of items off the menu and some specials, the fried food was well cooked and not overly breaded. I had the broiled striper that was encrusted with something really, really good. The steamed clams cooked just right and I thought the chowder and lobster bisque were excellent. I'd skip the "stuffy's", these seemed a little too dry and not very clamtastic, but that was the only shortcoming. I'd strongly recommend for a great, well priced meal if your in the area. Pretty good service and a full bar.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Kingstown, Rhode Island
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Very popular, but we don't understand why....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We've been to Chopmist Charlies on a number of occasions, but the last time we went we decided it would probably be our last time. The food was just not good. It was ok, but for the price, we were expecting better. The atmosphere is very casual, and the wait staff was overwhelmed on the evening we were there.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackstone, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“The place looks like a worn old building from the outside but is well restored on the inside.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

They offer a large and varied selection of great food at reasonable prices. I have eaten there several times and had steak, fish and pasta dishes and each time it was delicious. They also have a bar and good wine selection.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Good seafood”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

As the name, signage, menu indicate, this is a seafood restaurant. That said, the seafood is excellent--order anything from the sea and it will be great. That said, their non-seafood items were very disappointing. Opted to go for a chicken with salad this visit and received what appeared to be a boxed chicken patty chopped up on top. Consistency was a little better than McDonald's.
-Friendly staff
-Prompt service
-Lower-than-expected prices
-Excellent seafood
-Crummy land-food.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chopmist Charlie's also viewed

 

Been to Chopmist Charlie's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chopmist Charlie's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.