We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful views, wide open areas” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Beavertail Light and Park

Beavertail Light and Park
Beavertail Rd., Jamestown, RI
401 423 3270
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 15 things to do in Jamestown
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Sunbathing, Picnicking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The site of America's third lighthouse and the first in Rhode Island dates back to 1749.
Jamestown, Rhode Island
2 reviews
“Beautiful views, wide open areas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

We love to ride bikes to Beavertail and fly kites. There are a number of WWII bunkers from the shore batteries that are of some interest. There is a great hands on aquarium for kids too. Fishing seems to be popular, but I've NEVER seen anyone catch anything there. I think there are better spots further north on the island. The real gems are the lighthouse and views.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    38
    2
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jamestown, Rhode Island
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful vista of Narragansett Bay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Beavertail Lighthouse sits at the entrance to Narragansett Bay on Conanicut Island. It boasts a beautiful view of Newport as well as the mainland.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
185 reviews 185 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Great scenery around the point and lighthouse”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

Great place to watch the sun and waves - or to watch a storm roll in!

There is plenty of parking in the various lots around the perimeter, with plenty of room to sit on the grass overlooking the water, or take a walk on the rocks for the adventurous ones! The grounds are clean and well kept. The park is located a short drive from downtown Jamestown, where you can stop for a meal either before or after your visit - or bring a picnic basket instead!

The rocks are VERY slippery when wet, so make sure you have solid footwear on and are careful where you step if you walk along the rocks.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paterson, New Jersey
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Beautiful Beavertail Light.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

I enjoy visiting lighthouses. This was my first visit to this particular lighthouse. It's a pretty lighthouse too. I like how it's positioned on the point. The road drives you around it in close view of it. I got out & walked around it. The park grounds were nice. Seen people fishing, walking & such. Even though it was quite windy out that day which made it a tad chilly. The views from the peninsula were really nice. The lighthouse itself was beautiful. I could definitely see why folks would visit here. Definitely some great views for taking pictures or just take in the scenery.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dracut, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful scenic vistas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

This little gem is situated at the southern tip of Conanicut Island in Narragansett Bay. Beautiful scenery of the ocean with plenty of trails among the rocks. Lots of parking and nice, clean Clivis (composting) bathrooms.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beavertail Light and Park also viewed

 

Been to Beavertail Light and Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beavertail Light and Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.