We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beavertail Light and Park

Beavertail Light and Park
Beavertail Rd., Jamestown, RI
401 423 3270
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 14 Attractions in Jamestown
Type: Lighthouses, State Parks, Outdoors
Activities: Sunbathing, Picnicking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The site of America's third lighthouse and the first in Rhode Island dates back to 1749.
Minneola, Florida
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
46 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We stopped on our way to the airport. The area is beautiful!!! I saw folks flying kites, walking dogs, and climbing on the rocks. The pics with the lighthouse came out perfect. The park is very good size with plenty of parking...and it was free!!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    38
    2
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bellingham, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Always different, always fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We have visited during storms with the waves breaking upon the rocks and on sunny days with Block Island visible on the horizon. We have seen weddings performed on the rocks and once met a man whose family had a camp on the island and used to come for the summer on the ferry from the mainland. The hurricane of 37 put an end to that, now he drives over and sets a chair up where their cottage used to be. Walking, running, bike riding, fishing or just sitting and watching the water, the boats and the people the park is always interesting. Our children and grand children have enjoyed climbing down the rocks to the water and finding the animals which live there. The bathroom facilities have been upgraded and are kept clean. The museum when open is interesting and standing in front of the fog horn is a never to be forgotten thrill. Yesterday we brought our folding chairs, binoculars and cameras and spent several hours just enjoying the day. We would recommend the park to anyone and the ride out is as interesting as the visit itself.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Kingstown, Rhode Island
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Beavertail is a great place to take a ride to, take some gorgeous pictures, or just sit and look at the beautiful view.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebring, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Just Beautiful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

The lighthouse itself was o.k. but the area that surrounds the lighthouse is just beautiful. In my opinion, this area was far more peaceful and beautiful than Newport.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pawtucket, Rhode Island
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

There is nothing better than packing a lunch and heading out to the rocks! I like to bring the fluffy cushions from the lawn furniture and bask in the sunshine, snuggle with someone special, watch the boats go by, share a cocktail and listen to the waves crash into the rocks.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beavertail Light and Park also viewed

 

Been to Beavertail Light and Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beavertail Light and Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.