We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional brunch, lovely place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jamestown Fish

Jamestown Fish
14 Narragansett Ave, Jamestown, RI 02835-1166
401-423-3474
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Jamestown Fish is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5 of 16 Restaurants in Jamestown
Price range: $10 - $38
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: Jamestown FiSH features fresh, locally harvested, seafood and produce artfully prepared by Executive Chef Matthew MacCartney. He is happy to suggest the perfect wine pairing for each menu item from our extensive selection of fine wine from the world's most respected vineyards.
rhode island
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Exceptional brunch, lovely place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

we had a wonderful Sunday brunch here, on a hot summers day. Had the marinated eggplant dish with fresh mozzarella, and also an order of gulf shrimp cocktail. My companion had the smoked. Salmon eggs Benedict. For desert we had a homemade, fresh mint ice cream which was incredible! Staff was very polite and attentive. Only downer was wine served in a plastic goblet, really???

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    30
    13
    18
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Servers and staff in a daze”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

Food quality barely suitable for the price. Servers and staff seem to be in daze. 3 menu conflicts with only 2 people eating and drinking. Wouldn't go back. It's too bad. Was hopeful and optimistic when we walked in.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, Rhode Island
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Pricey but better”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We've been going to the bar after fishing of late. Smelts and artichokes are very good. Smoked salmon while very good is light on value. Uncle joes eggplant is vibrant and tasty. House wines are really lacking. Cab looks like a rose?? Order bottles. Although we have not delved into the main dishes I did see the tuna and it looked light on value for portion size. This restaurant has the opportunity to put the death blow on its neighbor Tratt, but needs to add value to offerings or risk Tratt getting its act together. Beefing up the portion size is a way to do it. The time is right. Service is definitely getting attention from management.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westerly, Rhode Island
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Lunch on the 4th of July”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We had a very nice lunch of lobster salad and fluke on the umbrella shaded patio on the main drag of scenic Jamestown.The dining room is only open in the evening. The food was prepared nicely and every thing was very fresh. Blueberry Tapioca was different and very delicious. We would certainly go again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Delicious Scrod and Fish and Chips!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Fish is a perfect place for sailors to perch around the lively outdoor bar and dine at comfortable and clean outdoor tables on patio. While outdoor seating cannot be reserved, the summer wait is not too long and can serve as the prefect timing to stroll shops nearby or walk to downtown dock for viewing bay. We had 2 very fresh FISH & CHIPS that were perfectly cooked and served piping hot with either fries or salad. Another dish was the baked, in-season scrod that was so fresh it could have just pulled off the line. The scrod had a tasty, light sauce and a few vegetables to accompany the large portion of fish. Lovely dining space. Great bar upstairs with "Local Peter" the bartender on watch mixing lovely summer cocktails and pouring generous splits of cold, crisp summer wines. On prior visits, we've enjoyed the grilled-to-order hamburgers and wood-oven pizzas - both delicious and with ingredients of high quality. Well-bahaved dogs are welcome at the outdoor seating, Reservations are taken for the indoor dining that serves a more upscale menu with white table cloths and air conditioning. In summary, there are 2 bars with lovely outdoor space that serve a casual menu and 2 dining areas - upscale dining is inside and casual dining outside.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jamestown Fish also viewed

 

Been to Jamestown Fish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jamestown Fish, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.