We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top class” 5 of 5 stars
Review of East Bay Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jamestown
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
East Bay Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added East Bay Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
14 Union Street, Jamestown, RI 02835   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Jamestown B&B and Inns
Bern, Switzerland
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
347 helpful votes 347 helpful votes
“Top class”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Our two night stay here was perfect in every way. Owners, Diane and Paul have set the bar very high, offering their guests all the expected amenities and hospitality, plus a little (or a lot!) more. They were cordial, helpful, non-intrusive, and they listened as well as talked, offering opinions and advice. When we arrived Paul unhesitatingly grabbed our cases despite their size and the stairs that separated us from our East Ferry Room. Breakfasts were superb, tasty, varied, balanced and beautifully presented, just like the house itself.

Property - Located off the main street, within walking distance of the restaurants (try Chopmist Charlie’s for tasty, unpretentious and reasonably priced seafood) and the marina (for its convenient passenger service to Newport), the B&B is housed in an older property with off street parking (though if this is full, parking on the road poses no problem either), a small back garden and a sunny porch where breakfasts are served.

Room - Despite being one of the least expensive rooms, the East Ferry was lovely. Overlooking the back of the house, it was quiet (although this is a period property, don’t go thinking creaking stairs and floors and thin walls, we never heard a thing at nights despite the other rooms being occupied) and more spacious than it looks on the website. It is beautifully decorated too in shades of lime and cream, comes with a comfortable bed, wall-mounted flat screen TV, small fridge, wi-fi (very fast) and adjoining shower. Little unexpected extras included the tasty treats left beside the bed each night, the two wine glasses and bottle opener (very handy!), the communal tea/hot chocolate/coffee maker and more treats just outside our door and the make-up remover pads in the bathroom.

Attractions - There is plenty to do in the area and Jamestown, while sleepy (at least when we were there in mid October) is centrally located within the state and close to both local and Newport (there is a toll on the bridge) attractions, including: Beavertail Lighthouse (good for an after lunch potter or spot of fishing); the Cliff Walk in Newport (longish but not hard and can be combined with a tour of one of the famous mansions); Sakonnet Vineyards in Little Compton and the Sachuest Point National Wildlife Refuge (system of trails and mini-exhibits). Bikes and kayaks can also be hired to explore Conanicut Island. The Jamestown restaurants and eateries are varied, cater to all budgets and lie within walking distance of the B&B.

Verdict - All in all we had a great time and would definitely stay again (and recommend East Bay unreservedly). Now, if only the weather could have been similarly perfect...

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
69
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fort Collins, Colorado, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Jamestown is beautiful and charming, and a very easy drive to our destinations in Newport. It’s also very safe, and quieter and far less touristy than Newport. The proprietors lent us the EZ pass so that we would not need to pay tolls when we went to Newport.

The proprietors put tremendous thought and consideration into their guests’ stay. I always think a proprietor should stay in their own rooms to experience a guest’s needs when using the room. These folks must have done so, because the room had many thoughtful touches. This is an older house, and in addition to being comfortable, immaculate, beautifully decorated, and renovated with every modern convenience, they added many little touches that made our stay as easy as being at home. The bed and pillows were comfortable, the windows had blackout shades, the bathroom had nice towels, and plenty of hooks and surface space for our belongings. We had delectable sweet treats placed on our doorknob each evening, and the breakfast was made from scratch each morning and was also delicious. The breakfasts were just enough food, not too much, and not too little, with special touches like a mint leaf and coconut shavings in the seasonal fruit dish. It seems they thought of everything.

The proprietors were friendly and knowledgeable, but not intrusive. I wish we had been able to stay longer.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

This was out first trip to Rhode Island and based on Trip Advisor forums we decided to stay in Jamestown to provide a central base from which to explore. When we arrived I was a little dubious as the town seems quite sleepy, but after a few days stay with Diane and Paul I'm convinced we made the right choice.

What can I say, location-wise the house is only a road behind the main street which has a handful of restaurants and shops. Both bridges off the island are less than 5mins by car. The house felt like a home and the hosts are very warm in their welcome.

We stayed in the green East Ferry room which is a decent enough size, comfortable bed and well furnished. The whole house gives of the impression of a home, not a business. There are many extra unexpected touches such as fresh fruit, a communal coffee maker, and little treats left in our room. I have to mention the breakfasts as I feel a great deal of effort is put into the multi-course treat, so that I looked forward to them every morning!

I would not hesitate in recommending this place to friends and family. All in all, a very relaxing stay,and great location for visiting neighbouring Newport and Narragansett

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southbury, Connecticut
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

After spending several days at the East Bay B&B we found the hospitality second to none. Both Paul & Diane operate a warm & inviting home. The atmosphere was relaxed and the gourmet breakfast's & homemade baked treats were welcomed. The room was quiet & nicely decorated.My husband & I look forward to a return trip.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south jersey
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

Loved everything again about our recent stay here. Paul and Diane were as welcoming and great as ever. Breakfast were wonderful (3 course). I loved the scones. The rooms are great. Towels and bedding are extremly soft, which you don't get at a regular hotel. Water in the fridge is a nice treat as well as the nightly goody that is left for you in your room. Highly recommend this place.

Room Tip: The Narragansat is the only room with a king bed but the views are a little better from the Bayside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, MI
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

I read the excellent reviews and decided to try our first B & B here. We were pleasantly surprised with the accomodations, quietness, location, hospitality, and gourmet breakfasts. The hosts (Diane and Paul) are very gracious, kind, and attentive, yet not overbearing; the Narragansett room was roomy (very good bed), had a nice adjoining bath, and we could view the bay from the front bay window. The main town road is only one block away so it's quiet yet close to walk to restaurants. Parking was easily available on the street in front of the house. Breakfasts were excellent and served like we were on a luxury cruise out on their front enclosed porch. The town is very "old school", quaint, and lovely to walk around, yet close to the the main attractions via the 2 bridges. We were very happy to visit this wonderful town and home on our first tour of New England and recommend it highly.

Room Tip: The Narragansett Room is the only one with a king bed; the others have queen beds. It also is at th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
King's Point
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

I stayed with Paul and Diane for three weeks. I'm having a hard time telling you where to begin about how much I enjoyed my stay. Its located a block away from all the restaurants and bars in Jamestown. I stayed in Bayview and it was so clean and comfortable. Breakfast every morning was great. Both Paul and Diane were incredibly welcoming and friendly. I really recommend Easy Bay...I wouldn't stay anywhere else.

Room Tip: Bayview has great views and great natural sunlight in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to East Bay Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about East Bay Bed & Breakfast

Address: 14 Union Street, Jamestown, RI 02835
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Jamestown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Jamestown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Victorian - style inn offering 4 guest rooms, each graciously appointed with period furnishings, and all the comforts and conveniences of home. Located in the heart of Jamestown, RI, this b&b is 3 houses from the water and around the corner from restaurants and shops. Spend the day strolling through this quaint, coastal village or enjoy a trip across the harbor to Newport aboard a seasonal ferry. Or, Newport is 10 minutes by car. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
East Bay Bed And Breakfast
East Bay Hotel Jamestown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage East Bay Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.