We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hot showers, nice people, decent wifi” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Whispering Pines Campground

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hope Valley
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Whispering Pines Campground
Save
You added Whispering Pines Campground to your Saves list
41 Sawmill Rd, Hope Valley, RI 02832   |  
Hotel amenities
Dearborn, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Hot showers, nice people, decent wifi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

We camped in a tent, my girlfriend and I. We are from the Detroit area. We are grad students getting ready for major phases of training. Our purpose of the trip was to be near the coast and study. We needed wifi and this campground had it available throughout the facility. The wifi was not perfect, as it did get slow sometimes, so we did have to revert to 3G on our phones sometimes. But, we did always have access to the wifi and it did have moments of decent speed. All the staff were great to us and the owners who are also from Michigan gave us a bunch of free firewood. The campground in quite and safe. Will most sites are filled with RVers, it is a nice place for tenters too. Nothing in Rhode Island is far, so the longest drive to the farthest Rhode Island beach was about 45 minutes. Showers were always hot! Coin laundry is effective and we never had to wait to us it.

Room Tip: This is not a hotel. It is a campground. If you want a cabin, which are very nice here, for an exten...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin M, Owner at Whispering Pines Campground, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Thank you very much for leaving such a nice review. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us in Rhode Island and wish you the very best back in Michigan! You bring up a good point, within 30-40 min drive time you can be just about anywhere in the state. Within 35 minutes of our front gate you can reach half a dozen beaches, museums, Downtown Providence, casinos and more great restaurants than you will be able to try. It is a very special area.

We hope that you won’t be strangers and will visit us again in the future.

Thanks again!!

Cameron & Justin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    27
    8
    4
    4
See reviews for
47
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cranston, Rhode Island
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

After 5 years of going to RV Camping shows my wife and finally I decided to take the plunge buying a Keystone Montana fifth wheel coach and placing it in Whispering Pines Campgrounds as first time seasonal campers. This was the best thing we could have done, Cameron and Justinn, the owners, are absolutely the best owner couple we could have hoped for. Not having done this before my wife and I both felt extremely comfortable from the first moment we met them. They showed us a site for our coach and I plunked down the deposit and never looked back. We are having a great time and already we have seen so many great upgrades sine the first day we stayed overnight. I have and will continue to recommend this campgrounds to everyone I know or come in contact with. We have already made friends with at least two dozen other families who have all been great to us. We expect to be here as seasonal campers for many seasons to come. Thank you Justin and Cameron!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin M, Owner at Whispering Pines Campground, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Ernie! Thank you so very much for your stellar review. We are very happy that you have chosen Whispering Pines as your home away from home for the 2014 season and hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back for many years to come!!

Thanks again,

Cameron & Justin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Providence, Rhode Island
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Hadn't been to whispering pines in 9yrs, WOW what a difference, staff extremely friendly, as well as the seasonal campers. You can see new owners are making many changes and upgrades. Kids had a great weekend. Bathrooms are very clean,compared to the last stay 9yrs ago. Had such a pleasant stay we booked 2 more camping trips before we left.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin M, Owner at Whispering Pines Campground, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
We are so happy to read that you enjoyed your stay. It’s really great to read such positive comments from someone who has camped here both during our current ownership and before. Please let us know if we can do anything to further your enjoyment during your future stays with us. We are looking forward to welcoming you again at least two more times summer! Thank you very much for booking again so soon.

Much thanks,

Cameron & Justin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

Plenty to do for the kids. Very friendly staff. Camp sites were in great condition and very clean. Will definitely go back. Only complaint was having to go across the whole campground to get to a bathroom.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin M, Owner at Whispering Pines Campground, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Thank you very much for reviewing us, we are happy to see that you enjoyed your camping trip with us and hope that you decided to come camp with us again in the future. Some of our sites are certainly more of a walk from one of our bathroom facilities than others are. Please give us a call before your next camping trip with us and we will be more than happy to suggest some sites that are closer to restrooms.

Thank you again for taking the time to leave a review!

Best regards,

Cameron & Justin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pawtucket, Rhode Island
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Great being back at Whispering Pines. Cameron and entire staff were extremely friendly, courteous and helpful. Facilities upgrading and cleanliness was a pleasant surprise. We'll be back.

One suggestion - Completing installation of mirrors (one long mirror or individual mirrors over sinks in men's rooms would be helpful. The men's room closest to my sites (in W area) didn't have mirrors.
It was also great that showers could be used without worrying about dropping coins in a meter. Great plus to accomodations.

We'll see you again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin M, Owner at Whispering Pines Campground, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Thank you very much for leaving taking the time to review Whispering Pines! We are very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay. We are sorry that you were without a mirror in bathroom #3. Unfortunately, the mirror was broken just before your stay and we had to remove it for safety. However, it has since been replaced.

We hope to see you again soon.

Thank you again!

Cameron & Justin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, Rhode Island
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We stayed mothers day weekend. Staff was very helpful and courteous. Campground was clean. The people at the campground were very friendly. Alot of activities. Lookinging forward to camping trips in the future.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin M, Owner at Whispering Pines Campground, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Thank you very much for choosing to come camping at Whispering times! We are very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again soon. We are looking forward to a great summer and are glad that you were here to help us kick it off.

Thanks again,

Cameron & Justin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northbridge, Massachusetts
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

This was our first trip to Whispering Pines this Memorial Day Weekend. When we arrived the office had someone escort us to our site and help to back us in. This was a great relief for my wife! I was impressed by how clean the campground was and the paved road entering the campground. Our five kids loved this place, they all enjoy fishing and catching frogs. The pond was where we spent most of our time. It was well maintained and the canoes and paddle boats that are free to use are well kept. There were lots of activities for the kids and everything was well run. This is truly the first campground that both my wife and I would consider becoming a seasonal at. We will definitely return to Whispering Pines.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin M, Owner at Whispering Pines Campground, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Thank you very much for spending your Memorial Day Weekend with us. Also, thank you for taking the time to share such an informative review with others. I hope we see you and your family again soon and please do not hesitate to let us know if we can be of any service to you when planning your next trip.

Thanks again,

Cameron & Justin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Whispering Pines Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whispering Pines Campground

Address: 41 Sawmill Rd, Hope Valley, RI 02832
Location: United States > Rhode Island > South County > Hope Valley
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Hope Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
--Welcome to the Whispering Pines Camping Experience – Nestled in the heart of New England among 50 acres of towering pines… This is what camping was meant to be.— Amenities:-Large wooded sites for Tents, Trailers, RV’s - Full hookups, pull-thru & Season sites available - Clean restrooms - Complimentary hot showers - Camp store stocked with groceries and RV supplies - Laundry facility - WiFi - Dump station - Propane filling station - Firewood - Ice - Swimming Pool - Miniature Golf -Barrel Train - Paddleboats - Spring-fed fishing pond stocked yearly for catch and release - Playground - Athletic Field - Reek Hall w/ arcade - Snack Bar - Recreational Activities - Bocce - Horseshoes - Basketball-Volleyball - Dog Park ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Whispering Pines Campground, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.