We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family friendly campground. So many amenities.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Whispering Pines Campground

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hope Valley
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Whispering Pines Campground
Save
You added Whispering Pines Campground to your Saves list
41 Sawmill Rd, Hope Valley, RI 02832   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Smithfield, Rhode Island
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great family friendly campground. So many amenities.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

It was our first time going to this campground, and we loved everyday there. Each day they had planned packed with different activities, games, contests and more; my kids had a blast and didn't want to leave. Reasonably priced, slight increase compared to other campgrounds but the amenities make up for it.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin M, Owner at Whispering Pines Campground, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
We are so happy that you decided to come stay at Whispering Pines! We are even happier that you and your family enjoyed your stay so much. We hope to welcome you and your family back again and again!

Thank you so much for taking the time to review us!

Best regards -- Cameron & Justin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    27
    8
    4
    4
See reviews for
48
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pawtucket
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Upon check in we were shown to our site. The staff also helped guide us into the spot to optimize the space during our stay. They offer plenty of activities for the kids - the barrel rides and stop at "Santa's place" was a big hit with my grandchildren.
One complaint: we just wish the sites were a little bigger.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin M, Owner at Whispering Pines Campground, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
I'm very happy to read that you had a great stay with us at Whispering Pines!!

We started escorting all campers checking in to their sites this season. We think it helps start the weekend off right if you have a little bit of help getting to your site and getting the camper parked. It also gives us an opportunity to double check the site and make sure that you will not have any issues right there on the spot. Not to mention meet a few more of the great campers that come to visit us every season.

There are very few sites alike at Whispering Pines. We fill up early for the high season months but if you call early and let us know what you are looking for in a site and what you are camping in we can usually find something that will be a perfect fit.

Thank you again so much for the review and we look forward to seeing you again very soon!

Best regards, -- Cameron & Justin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Have been going to this campground for over thirty years. Have noticed an increase in seasonal campers and a very large amount and high use of golf carts. Speed limit rules were not followed by golf cart drivers and owners/staff had no intention of enforcing rules to seasonal campers. Owner very disrespectful in tone when speaking to us. I was under the impression that because we were only staying for one week that our stay was not important to them. We felt very singled out and out if place despite having been regular paying customers yearly over a period of more than thirty years. We will unfortunately be looking for another campground in that area for our yearly family camping vacation. It used to be a wonderful, fun and relaxing place to go.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin M, Owner at Whispering Pines Campground, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
I can not speak for years past since we purchased the park this year but I can tell you that I hold every camper at Whispering Pines with the highest regard as a customer. The campers who like the park so much that they have decided to spend the whole season with us are very important to us but just as much as a camper who is here for one night, a month or a week. Everyone is a paying customer and we believe that we are here to provide a safe, fun and clean atmosphere where all can enjoy the individual camping experience that each is looking for.

Regarding campers with golf carts. There is no place on this property for anyone driving any vehicle in an unsafe manner. If any camper has any issue the front desk phone is answered 24hrs a day. Anyone, abusing the property or having a negative impact to another campers stay will be asked to cease. If they do not cease they will be politely asked to leave.

I hate to read that your stay was an unhappy one. Especially, after coming to the property for so many years. My name is Justin please call and speak with me. I would love the opportunity to hear more about your stay and invite you back next season to stay with us. We have many more improvements in-store for the property this off season and would love for you to see them next year.

Thank you again for your review and I hope to hear from you soon.

Best regards,

Cameron & Justin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffield, CT
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Clean restrooms but they closed for a long time to be cleaned, not convenient with kids. No restrooms near pool/rec area which was also inconvenient. Sites were kind of small an not private at all. Fun weekend but will go to a different place next summer.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin M, Owner at Whispering Pines Campground, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. I hope that you will change your mind and visit us again next season. We agree, it is inconvenient to close the bathrooms for cleaning. We are watching usage patterns this season in order to schedule cleanings next year during low usage periods. We also agree that it is a bit of a walk from the pool / rec area to the closest bathroom. Therefor, we are working on two plans for improvement of that area which will eventually offer a mens / ladies room which will be more convenient for our guests.

In the 1960's, when the park opened, the majority of campers were doing so in tents. Now we see everything from tents and pop-up trailers to 60' RV's with pull behinds. Therefor, most of the sites have moved over the years which has left us with nearly no two sites that are the same. Some are less privet than others some are out of the way and set back in the woods. Please call us early with your reservation request and let us know what sort of camping experience you are looking for. As long as your request is made early enough we are usually able to find a site that you will be happy with.

Thank you again for taking the time to review us. We do hope to see you in the future!

Best regards, Cameron & Justin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, Rhode Island, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We love to camp at this campground, we are tenters and find that the sites are large enough to hold our large tents and all our stuff. We love the wooded sites. We will continue to return year after year.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin M, Owner at Whispering Pines Campground, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Its great to read that you have enjoyed your stays with us. I hope you return to visit us next season! Also, thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review of the property.

Happy Camping! -- Cameron & Justin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danbury, Connecticut
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We used this campground as our base for visiting both Mystic and Newport. We didn't visit the pool or game room, but they were always busy. Lovely walks around the campground and pond. The shower could have been cleaner but we have seen worse! The staff was very attentive, even coming over to check that all was well. We would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin M, Owner at Whispering Pines Campground, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you very much for staying with us and taking the time to leave a review. We are glad that you enjoyed traveling around Southern New England while you were here. When we tell people who are asking about activities and attractions near the campground I feel like it sounds like we are exaggerating. There is so much to do within a 45 min drive of the property.

We hope that you will visit us again next season and check some more sites and events off your list.

Thank you again! -- Cameron & Justin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, Connecticut
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We had a wonderful time at Whispering Pines during our stay in August. The campground is very well maintained. Staff were all super friendly. We really enjoyed our wooded site, and felt there was plenty of room. Other sites closer to the center of the campground (near pool and pavilion) seemed to be a bit more crowded. Nice activities. Very nice pool. Clean facilities. Would have preferred that they had a restroom in the pavilion or rec complex area. Otherwise, they were a bit of a walk away. WiFi was bogged down at times. Very peaceful at night and seasonal campers were very welcoming. My kids have been begging us to be seasonal there next summer. Will definitely return in the future!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin M, Owner at Whispering Pines Campground, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave Whispering Pines a review. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and return again next season to see the continuing improvements that we are making this off season.

We look forward to seeing you then!

Thank you again -- Cameron & Justin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Whispering Pines Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whispering Pines Campground

Address: 41 Sawmill Rd, Hope Valley, RI 02832
Location: United States > Rhode Island > South County > Hope Valley
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Hope Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
--Welcome to the Whispering Pines Camping Experience – Nestled in the heart of New England among 50 acres of towering pines… This is what camping was meant to be.— Amenities:-Large wooded sites for Tents, Trailers, RV’s - Full hookups, pull-thru & Season sites available - Clean restrooms - Complimentary hot showers - Camp store stocked with groceries and RV supplies - Laundry facility - WiFi - Dump station - Propane filling station - Firewood - Ice - Swimming Pool - Miniature Golf -Barrel Train - Paddleboats - Spring-fed fishing pond stocked yearly for catch and release - Playground - Athletic Field - Reek Hall w/ arcade - Snack Bar - Recreational Activities - Bocce - Horseshoes - Basketball-Volleyball - Dog Park ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Whispering Pines Campground, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.