We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yikes, not tent camping” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Whispering Pines Campground

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hope Valley
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Whispering Pines Campground
Save
You added Whispering Pines Campground to your Saves list
41 Sawmill Rd, Hope Valley, RI 02832   |  
Hotel amenities
southeast mass
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Yikes, not tent camping”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

We are starting camping with our young son and we use a tent. This "campground" looked fun with all the attractions and activities for kids, but it is not a "nature" experience. 95% of the campers are season renters in trailers, completely outfitted with decks and plantings. Most of the adults, albiet pleasant, were driving around in golf carts with drinks in hand. Our site was very exposed and we could see directly into the neighbouring trailers. One site had a commercial ice machine (!!) that kept us up all night, as with the loud, adults partying late into the night. The mini-golf course, recreation/games room and crafts for kids was great, but the fishing/boating pond was choked with weeds/algae. We spent very little time at the campground, as it was not what we were looking for and enjoyed Scarborough State beach. Very few bathrooms (as majority of campers there have trailers) and it was quite a walk to the toilet, especially with a toddler. Wished we had a golf cart, ha, ha. The staff were very pleasant and the store was well stocked. Only would recommend this place is you have a trailer and are into drinking more than nature.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin M, Owner at Whispering Pines Campground, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you for the review. Whispering Pines has undergone a change in ownership and we have and are working on many improvements for the 2013 season. I'm happy to read that there were many things that you liked about the campground. One of the improvements we are implementing for the 2013 season is a customer service and reservation system that will do a better job with matching the camping unit and overall camping experience you are looking for with the site that best matches your needs. We will also be monitoring quite hours very closely and have contact numbers available upon check-in so we can be alerted of any problems. Thank you again for the review, every comment helps us.

Best regards,

Cameron and Justin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    27
    8
    4
    4
See reviews for
47
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fayetteville, North Carolina
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

I have been to Whispering Pines many times over the years as a guest and a camper. While there are some positives, there are also some negatives.

Positives:
Location - nearby are beaches, the Casinos (Foxwoods and Mohegan Sun), Washington County Fair, parks, kayaking (Wood River), Golf (Richmond Country Club), not to mention Mystic Aquarium, Seaport, and Village. Just down the street from the campground are all the conveniences you may need in case you have to run out for alcohol, diapers, food, or antiques.

Family Atmosphere - Many of the sites are seasonal campers who have improved upon their sites over time (as mentioned in other reviews with wooden decks, nice gardens, etc). They take care of the sites, the grounds, public areas, and other campers. There are activities and fun things for the families and kids of all ages to do (magic shows, pool, mini golf, arcade games, free wagon train rides, horse shoes, basket ball and other camping events.) On the weekends, they have a pancake breakfast which is a good price. Get there early for seating in the shade. Some weekends will also have kids Olympics with prizes, typically store money or ice cream vouchers.

Woods - Ever go to a campground only to find every tree was cut down to make room for slabs? Not here. You are actually in the woods, and get somewhat of a camping (abate, you have electricity and amenities) feel. Other camp grounds are more resort like, this place has that woods feel.

Improvements - Slowly coming, but they are coming along. Taking out old trees, paving the main road, and the bathrooms are getting cleaned more throughout the day as well. Many complain about the streets being dirt and rocky - it keeps the traffic going slower, remember, this is a family campground and people do try to speed through at times.

Staff - Always friendly, always helpful, and sincere. The same faces year after year are indicative that it is a good place to work and come back to.

Cost - priced competitively for what you are given.

Laundry - it is available

WiFi - available, but remember, you are camping so put away the electronics.

Playground - kids and little kids, usable condition and the little ones will have fun for a bit of time.

Now for the Downs:

Sites - know your sites before you book them. Some are horrible, with little to no room, others near the pumping station. Book early for best results, and pick the site you want. We prefer up in the back, and away from the pond......

The Pond - don’t fish here to catch fish, it is useless. Go up to the Wood River (map available at the URE store you pass on the way in) and kayak or shore fish. The pond is short of a joke and barely big enough for the complimentary canoes and paddle boats.

Facilities - bathrooms are dated and need upgrading, but better than outhouses and trenches used elsewhere. You are camping and not staying in a hotel.

Store - has what you need to get through the night, and many things you don’t need. Everything you need is up the street at the Package Store, CVS, Stop and Shop, McDonalds, or the gas station.

Pool - 100 kids, zero shade. Hopefully it has a lot of chlorine in it. Kids love it, bring umbrella or fight for one of the 2 that are there. Other camp grounds offer larger pools, more pools, or water slides. This suffices for the crowd.

Arcade - Flashback to my childhood in the 80s. They do have ping pong though, as well as horseshoes.

Overall, a nice place to go and spend a weekend and use the place as your base station to other things in the area. There is a lot to offer within short drives, especially for hiking, kayaking, fishing, and other things mentioned as well as fairs in the southern RI region, but if looking to stay in a high-end campground with modernization, fancy pools, radio playing in the bathroom stalls, you best look elsewhere.

Room Tip: Scout it out ahead of time with a drive through. Don't take sites near entrance (pumping statio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin M, Owner at Whispering Pines Campground, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write such an extensive review. Whispering Pines has undergone a change in ownership and we are making many improvements during the off-season. I hope you are planning on staying with us again this year and would love to hear and read your impressions of the work we have done.

Thank you again,

Cameron and Justin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rhode island
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

This campground was a little above 3 stars. While it is old and dated they do try to keep it clean.
There is a large population that are seasonal campers but all that we encountered were nice and friendly. The prices of food and beverages at the snack bar and general store were reasonable. They had crafts for the kids, a nice magic show, and a "train" ride that was nice. The pancake breakfast in the am was very good. It was nice to have someone cook for us. I would recommend this to families, first timers, and anyone looking to "rough it" a little bit. This is not a resort like we have stayed at before but we will certainly go again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin M, Owner at Whispering Pines Campground, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you very much for the review. As the new owners of Whispering Pines we are working on many upgrades for the 2013 season. Its our intention to keep the original charm and "real" camping feel of the property while updating bathrooms, roads, signage, communications, etc. I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you again in 2013!

Thank you again for the review and being our guest.

Best regards,

Cameron and Justin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Earth, Texas
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012 via mobile

Great place to vacation! Close to beaches and local hot spots

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin M, Owner at Whispering Pines Campground, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. We are very lucky to be so close to beautiful beaches and attractions like Newport and Mystic. I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you as our guest again in 2013.

Best regards,

Cameron and Justin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Whispering Pines Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whispering Pines Campground

Address: 41 Sawmill Rd, Hope Valley, RI 02832
Location: United States > Rhode Island > South County > Hope Valley
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Hope Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
--Welcome to the Whispering Pines Camping Experience – Nestled in the heart of New England among 50 acres of towering pines… This is what camping was meant to be.— Amenities:-Large wooded sites for Tents, Trailers, RV’s - Full hookups, pull-thru & Season sites available - Clean restrooms - Complimentary hot showers - Camp store stocked with groceries and RV supplies - Laundry facility - WiFi - Dump station - Propane filling station - Firewood - Ice - Swimming Pool - Miniature Golf -Barrel Train - Paddleboats - Spring-fed fishing pond stocked yearly for catch and release - Playground - Athletic Field - Reek Hall w/ arcade - Snack Bar - Recreational Activities - Bocce - Horseshoes - Basketball-Volleyball - Dog Park ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Whispering Pines Campground, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.