We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful surprize” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bistro 9

Bistro 9
1646 Division Rd., East Greenwich, RI 02818
+1 401-398-1875
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Bistro 9 is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $8 - $30
Cuisines: Italian, American, Bar, Bistro
Dining options: Dinner, Dessert, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Dessert, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Rhode Island
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“wonderful surprize”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Popped in here at the last minute after a movie with no reservation. Waited about 10 minutes at a comfy bar. Charming waitress, delicious food, nice ambiance. Fried tomatoe app was different and yummy. Perfect salmon and my husband's osso bucco was outstanding. We'll be back. Very varied menu with something for everyone from pasta to steaks and even hamburgers (looked great from a distance).

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    12
    4
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Amazing food, amazing atmosphere, a must-try”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

My wife and I come to this restaurant every week. The food is fantastic and the best salmon we've ever had. The chef aaron Edwards is talented and knos what he is doing. the manager Scott always makes us feel welcome and the staff is so friendly. Great place to go with your family or friends and great view of the golf course. We see many private events that occur on the patio, and have even seen a wedding. We would definitely recommend this restaurant. It is 5 stars and belongs in NYC.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syosset, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“best italian food in rhode island!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Bistro 9 is truly a hidden gem located on division road in a residential area. It is deceiving from the outside but once you step inside the ambiance is beautiful. I cannot do anything less but rave about the food and the wonderfully creative and talented Chef Aaron Edwards who never fails to disappoint us! The osso bucco, bolognese, and salmon salad are a few of my favorites on the menu and as the reviews before me said, the specials are always to die for. If you haven't checked this place out yet, you've missed out on some amazing food in Rhode Island located in a vibrant and warm atmosphere.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, Rhode Island
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Delightful Dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

It was a Friday night and we'd heard good things from colleagues about this place and a Christmas gift certificate from a friend made it an easy decision. We called for an 8:30 reservation and were told reservations were generally made only for groups of five or more, but they accommodated our request and booked a table for us. We arrived about fifteen minutes early and had to wait in the bar until our table opened up. The place was packed with a broad cross section of dining patrons ranging from tees and jeans to jackets and ties and an age range from early twenties to senior citizens.
The dining area is divided into two basic components: an upper area with roughly eight tables and a lower area (separated by a wall and several steps) that shares it's space with a high energy (TV) bar along one wall. The noise level was rather high for the first half of our meal but diminished as the crowd thinned out after 9pm. The background music (up-beat, adult contemporary (?)) seemed a bit out of place for a restaurant with linen table cloths - but that's a personal observation.
The meal itself was excellent. My wife enjoyed a Caesar's Salad appetizer and a delicious sugar glazed salmon on a bed of couscous while I while I chose a salsa covered, lump crab crabcake and a tasty Tagliatelle Bolognese pasta dish. Total yum! The wine list was a nice mix of affordable wines that paired well with the menu.
Executive Summary: Great place for an informal, reasonably priced evening out with friends and family.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, Rhode Island
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Unrated? How can that be!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Bistro Nine has been around for a couple of years now and may be the most popular restaurant in East Greenwich, located at the East Greenwich Golf Course. The cinder block exterior is unimpressive but has been repainted, while the inside has been transformed into a classy, cozy restaurant. The food, thanks to an amazingly creative chef, compares to more expensive local restaurants like 1149 and Siena. Outdoor seating overlooking the golf course is available and very popular in warmer weather, and the parking lot begins filling for dinner before 5pm! Don't call for reservations unless you have a large party. My favorite is Osso Bucco, but there are always specials (truly!) that may lure me into another choice. I have NEVER had a bad meal there, and the waitstaff is usually excellent. Your tummy will be happy, and when the bill comes, you can put the mortgage to your house back in your pocket!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro 9 also viewed

East Greenwich, South County
East Greenwich, South County
 
East Greenwich, South County
East Greenwich, South County
 

Been to Bistro 9? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bistro 9, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.