We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great burgers, but service can be mediocre” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ted's Montana Grill

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Ted's Montana Grill
2 Chapel View Blvd, Cranston, RI 02920-3062
401-275-5070
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 245 restaurants in Cranston
Price range: $21 - $30
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Providence, RI
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great burgers, but service can be mediocre”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

We like Ted's because it's close to home; the burgers are delicious and there are lots of options for customizing your own.

Honestly, though, we've stopped going to Ted's as much, since we found that not all servers were trained to the same level. (Actually, we've had a couple of experiences where the server/bartender was downright unfriendly.) Pat and Alan are both pretty awesome, since they always kept our orders straight - Pat actually used to remember our orders from visit to visit. Unfortunately, Pat is no longer there and let's face it - if Alan is still there, he can't work every night.

The biggest challenge is the seasoning on the burger - there's too much and it's way too salty. I always request the burger without seasoning, but oftentimes that request is overlooked. Once we realize this, it's too late to send it back.

My suggestion to the restaurant would be to train all servers to a much more consistent level. Ted's offers a good product, and it has even more potential than it is realizing now - but it needs to invest more in the people.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

83% Recommend
    9
    18
    0
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Florida
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Love the Bison Burgers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

New restaurant for us. We tried the Bison Burgers and I ordered mine as rare as they would cook it. It came exactly as I would have cooked it at home,very pink, which is a rarity these days! It was delicious and the meatloaf and mashed potatoes were fantastic. Chili was bold and spicy and delicious. Our waitress was always checking to see if we needed anything else and quickly provided what was wanted. Very clean and beautiful restaurant with really good food at a reasonable price. We had no wait at all but it was on a Monday night with plenty of people there. Friendly atmosphere. Would definitely return for more of thier food! Excellent!

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrentham, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Not Good”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2011

Went for lunch, ordered a burger medium rare. I could see the cook as the kitchen is open, it came out way to seasoned/salty. I was wondering why he shook so much on both sides, now I know. The burger was also very undercooked / raw. It took me a few bites to figure this out because seasoning was so overdone. They offered to cook me a new burget, but at this point it wasn't worth it. Guess that is why only about 10 people we in there for lunch.

  • Visited April 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, Rhode Island
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Good food HORRIBLE SERVICE”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2010

We took a friend out for her birthday and she choose ted's the food was good... when we finally got it the service was terrible the waiter took forever to take out order and when he did he forgot parts of it for instance i had a meal deal with an appatizer , entre, and dessert. He forgot the appatizer the entre was wrong and he forgot the dessert I shouldn't have to remind my waiter to bring me my order! He also never came back to see if every thing was ok so we had to flag him down so he could bring me my appatizer and fix my order. At the end of the meal we asked to speak to a manager about he terrible service and he told us next time we came in he would give us a 10% discount well we wont be going back for that deal. Save your money and eat somewhere else.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Clemente, California
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Great burgers - Confort food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2010

This is my 4th different "Ted's" and arrived at the same high quality of the other 3 that I had already visited. Today, I chose to go with the Bacon Chese, Grilled Onion and Bison burger. it hit the spot with those incredible salt & Pepper onion rings.
Service was great, food was great, and the pickles that were delivered with our menus were a nice touch.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ted's Montana Grill also viewed

 

Been to Ted's Montana Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ted's Montana Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.