We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy & casual” 4 of 5 stars
Review of L'osteria

L'osteria
1703 Cranston St, Cranston, RI 02920-5013
401-943-3140
Update restaurant details
Ranked #26 of 243 restaurants in Cranston
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Providence, Rhode Island
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Cozy & casual”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Stopped by on a whim and pleasantly surprised. Not busy at the early hour our party of two dined but imagine it might be a bit cramped and hectic when the smallish but welcoming dining room is full. Menu had a good variety of choices. Prices fair. My gnocchi entree was light, flavorful. My wife enjoyed her risotto special. Bruschetta app special was the exception - ordinary and overpriced. Liked it overall.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

62% Recommend
    11
    7
    5
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Scituate, Rhode Island
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“The Most Amazing Place Ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

Great Service, Great Food, Great Dessert. I go there every week!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warwick, ri
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Overpriced with poor service even the bar made strange errors.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012 via mobile

Just about everything was subpar but in the interest of saving time, I will sum my review up with just the cocktail experience:
Order: 1 Margarita, 1 Stoli with club soda.
Received: 1 Gin & Rose's sweetened lime juice straight up (martini glass,no ice ),
1 questionnable vodka & tonic.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, Rhode Island
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very Good Italian Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

Our favorite Italian Restaurant . We always look forward to eating here. Small restaurant with a large menu. My wife and I have been here six times in the last year, twice with other couples, and everyone was pleased with the food and service each visit.

If I have any complaint it would be with some patrons who just can't seem to lower their voices in such an intimate spot and think that every one in the restaurant will find what they have to say interesting.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranston, Rhode Island
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere. Small but charming. Waaaaaaay too expensive!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012 via mobile

I like the small restaurant vibe la osteria puts out. That is until you get the bill. I think this place is a little pricey for what you get. You'd be better off heading to federal hill for the night. Food was very good. Pasta fagioli was fantastic. Restaurant.com usually has a deal to this place which helps but its still expensive. On weekend s you will be waiting dp make sure you make reservations.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'osteria also viewed

 

Been to L'osteria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'osteria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.