We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A locals secret that lives up to its reputation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mike's Kitchen

Mike's Kitchen
170 Randall St, Cranston, RI 02920-4341
401-946-5320
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 244 Restaurants in Cranston
Price range: $0 - $8
Cuisines: Italian
Good for: Large groups
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Akron
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“A locals secret that lives up to its reputation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

For years I've been visiting providence And hearing about "Mike's". It's located in a VFW hall so not someplace I ever expected to find. But luck was with us this trip and we literally stumbled into it when we got lost.
This isn't a fancy place (it is a VFW after all) but you'll feel like family there
Food is delicious. Portions are big. Service is very fast
We sampled all the parms -- veal, chicken and eggplant. They were incredible.
Try it. You won't be disappointed. But bring cash -- they dont take credit cards

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    9
    6
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Abingdon, MD
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great meal!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

I had the pleasure of eating at Mike's Kitchen. It is located in a VFW post so it is far from ostentatrious either outside or insside. Oh, what a great meal at a bargain price though. When they are open, the parking lot is full! Go in and eat and you will understand why. You are definitely not rushed here and it is first come first served. But what an extensive menu! Everything is absolutely fresh! You will NOT leave here hungry!!! Your wallet will not feel much pain either. Very laid back! When I went, I ran into a couple of people I had not seen for many years. Very friendly atmosphere!

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Scituate, Rhode Island
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Calimari Calimari”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

In addition to my favorite appetizer you can enjoy the simple surroundings with friends and family in a no frills great value spot
Wait staff are always friendly. Prices are very reasonable

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackstone, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The Godfather of Fried Calamari”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Heck, we just call it SQUID! As far as I know, Mike was one of the first to offer fried squid and is at least partly responsible for the everybody and their uncle trying to pass off their version of it. We don't visit as much as we'd like, but I have to say in the 30+ years we've been going, Mike and his staff pride themselves on consistency! If you're there around the end of the night when it quiets down and he comes out of the kitchen, if you or your family is from the old Knightsville neighborhood, he'll sit down and chat with you. There already has been tons said about the food, so all I can say it you won't be disappointed. Mangia bene!!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, RI
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic food at a reasonable price!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

You don't have to go to Federal Hill, or pay Federal Hill prices, to enjoy amazing Italian food. Mikes's Kitchen is as far from fancy as you can get, but the food is incredible. As a vegetarian, I love the Eggplant Sorentino and the Polenta. The prices are reasonable to begin with, and made even better because you'll have plenty left over for at least another meal, maybe two. You will truly love the food!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mike's Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Mike's Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mike's Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.