We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a pleasure” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Cove Restaurant

The Cove Restaurant
3963 Old Post Rd, Charlestown, RI 02813-2552
401-364-9222
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 19 Restaurants in Charlestown
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Clifton Park, New York
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Always a pleasure”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

Quaint local spot with a decent menu, well executed. Nothing fancy, but satisfying. I'm a Buffalonian who enjoyed the Buffalo chicken fingers and a chocolate lover who gets the bread pudding when I'm at The Cove.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    24
    9
    5
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
North Stonington, Connecticut
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Fresh”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

Had a wonderful lunch with friends and wife. The seafood is fresh very fresh. The fried oysters looked really good that my friend had. I had a spinach salad and it was truly one of the best I have had. The portion size was really good. Will return for sure.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Stonington, Connecticut
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Great Lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

I recently had lunch here for the first time. We went with friends who recommended this spot. We were not disappointed. I chose a wrap (I believe it was called "The bridge) that had chicken, pesto, roasted red peppers, mozzarella. It was delicious and one of the best sandwiches I've had. The service was good, although not the friendliest ever. Would definitely go back!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, Rhode Island
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Loud and not friendly”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

We arrived after a day on the water. We were greeted as if they didn't want us there. The hostess told us that there was a long wait yet we were seated in 10 minutes. The food was average but the service was terrible. Considering they sell it as a family restaurant, no consideration for kids. Very loud place.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCoveRI, Public Relations Manager at The Cove Restaurant, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
RI02886, I am sorry you feel you were not given the proper "Cove" experience and I assure you that we pride ourselves in treating each and every customer like they are family. If there was an issue with your service, we ask that you would speak to a manager in hopes of rectifying the issue. We are indeed a family restaurant, kids are extremely welcomed and we hope you will consider a second chance to see this for yourself.

As for the wait time being shorter then anticipated....we try to make sure you aren't told a shorter time and then forced to wait longer as that can be very aggravating. Normally our customers are pleased if the wait ends up being shorter then they initially expected but we apologize if the discrepancy caused you to be upset.

Again, we hope you consider dining with us again to see that "The Cove" is a family run, family oriented business that prides itself on pleasing our customers. Thanks for taking the time to share your thoughts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RI
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Great place to grab an affordable good meal before heading over to theatre by the sea”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

Felt like a great local restaurant with lots of choices on the menu. The calamari giovani was tender & tasty with the black olives, garlic, pepper rings, etc. Their stuffies (only $3) have the right combo of clam & seasonings to stuffing, and moist. Their crabcakes (2 in an order) were moist, flavorful, and you could see and taste the crab in them. We had fish & chips that had the fresh fish cooked perfectly and not an overbearing covering. Their scallops were good sized & cooked appropriately.

We certainly would return again. The staff was friendly & attentive. The food was good & priced affordably. Music is played on certain nights, probably catering to more of a 'bar scene', but they have dining tables separate from the bar area.

Glad we stumbled on this restaurant!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCoveRI, Public Relations Manager at The Cove Restaurant, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
HumblePieRI, your review means the world to us and we wanted to thank you for taking the time out of your busy day to make mention of your positive experience at "The Cove." We too are glad you stumbled upon us and look forward to you dining with us again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cove Restaurant also viewed

Charlestown, South County
Charlestown, South County
 
Charlestown, South County
Charlestown, South County
 

Been to The Cove Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cove Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.