We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice homey restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Cove Restaurant

The Cove Restaurant
3963 Old Post Rd, Charlestown, RI 02813-2552
401-364-9222
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 19 Restaurants in Charlestown
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Cheshire, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice homey restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

Visiting Charlestown RI for the week end, we had dinner at the Cove on Fri and Sat night. Friday night my husband had a cheeseburger(large) and thought it was just okay, someone else had the clam strips, which he thought were excellent and two of us had the Fish & Chips dinner(a bit on the small side) that we both thought was superb. Sat night most of us had the prime rib which was good but a little fatty, the clam strips again and an appetizer of chicken wings that were good also. It was Marti gras night with a great entertainer and beads for all, was fun. Have to also add that the waitresses were awesome on both nights and made us feel right at home.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCoveRI, Public Relations Manager at The Cove Restaurant, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Just wanted to take a minute to thank you for dining with us on both nights of your Charlestown vacation! Glad you got to experience our annual Mardi Gras celebration as it is always a blast! We will make sure to pass along your compliments to our staff, as well, as most of them have been with us since the beginning and it is always nice to hear when someone has a great time. Hope you visit us the next time you are in town!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    23
    9
    5
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
“Awesome people awesome wings”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

They have some of the best wings I have had in a very long time. Definitely worth it for happy hour. Great food and good pricing.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westerly, Rhode Island
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A nice homey place for dinner.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

My wife and I have been here many times over the past 7-10 years.
We are never disappointed in the service, quality of food or pricing.
Week-ends there is music, too.

The place is also very clean, and the owner is always there.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Off the Beaten Path”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Travel Rt 1 and just off the road is The Cove Restaurant. What a treat to find this place as the Inn/Restaurant we were looking for was closed. We made a meal out of the Appetizers: Calamari Giovanni, Maryland Crab Cakes and the Coconut Shrimp. More than enough to satisfy our hunger and set us on the road to Newport. The décor was in tune w/the Halloween Autumn theme and the surrounding area which was close to the Rhode Island Beaches. Service was very good, we were not rushed and enjoyed our meal. Made sure we noted the name and address so we can make this a stop any time we head north.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee,Wi
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Busy and good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

A traveling couple enjoyed a nice meal here on a very busy Saturday evening. The hostess, waitstaff and bartenders were friendly and efficient. Our seafood pasta meals were very good. Bread and salads were standard quality, the entrees were generous and well prepared. It's a nice place on a very dark road....we were unfamiliar with the area and stayed at a hotel that didn't offer any suggestions, so we were thankful to have found the warm friendly confines of The Cove.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cove Restaurant also viewed

Charlestown, South County
Charlestown, South County
 
Charlestown, South County
Charlestown, South County
 

Been to The Cove Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cove Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.