We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food with Great Vibes by the Sea” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Breachway Grill

Breachway Grill
1 Charlestown Beach Road, Charlestown, RI 02813
(401) 213-6615
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 19 Restaurants in Charlestown
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Charlestown, Rhode Island
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Great food with Great Vibes by the Sea”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

I highly recommend the Breachway Grill for any occassion, but make sure that your children are mature enough to be calm and relatively quiet to allow other patrons the enjoyment of the relaxing live musical acts on weekend nights. The food was excellent with great attention to quality local ingredients as well as presentation. The heads chef made the rounds to each table. My swordfish had the best fennel and raspberry(tremendous combo)sauces and was grilled perfectly. My husband's chicken was slightly dry so may opt for a different selection next time. The girls really liked their meals. The music was relaxing with a variety of light rock selections, standards that had several people singing along. Make sure you bring plenty of tip $ for the musicians. The servers were very attentive. This is a great option for both "date night" or just a night out with friends or family for some friendly sophistication in Charlestown. We'll be returning often.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    20
    3
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Relatively new - geat location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

Located at the beginning of Charlestown Beach Road. Nice little bar, living room area for cocktails and hors d'eourves. Dining room is a little funky just beacuse of the relatively small size. DR is a little cold and stark but certainly adequate. The food is very good and plentiful. Main menu is pizza, sandwiches and burgers but they do have 4 or 5 entrees each night. The entrees are excellent - didn't have the regular menu food. Live entertainment - a little loud just because of the size of the room but not annoyingly loud. Very nice staff - owners are on premise paying attention to everything and everyone. Good choice.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Don't go if you're hungry”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

First things first. The food, for the most part, was good and nicely presented when it finally came. Other than that, there was nothing that would make me want to come back. It took over an hour for 4 entrees to come out, one arrived about five minutes after all the others. That one was burning hot but the others were downright cold. They made substitutions for one dish, and added meat when it wasn't on the menu - to a vegetarian's plate. The waitress didn't remember what anyone's drinks were, took about 15 to bring the check over when it was asked for, the bill had an additional charge of 3 drinks (check your receipts when you go here), then when she took the credit card with the revised bill, took another 15 minutes just to bring it back. She blamed the computer - when I saw the other waitress give bills to 2 tables, and bring back the credit cards, and had her tables leave all while we were still waiting. The manager was walking around but didn't seem to mind that we were miserable. They weren't that busy here and the other waitress seemed to manage her tables well from what I could tell. Customers shouldn't have to wait over an hour for their food and get up to get the waitress.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schenectady, New York
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Very, very good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2012

Went on a Tuesday night and, not surprisingly, there were not too many people there. However, the people who were there (customers, owner/bartender/waiter) were extremely friendly, as was everyone in Charlestown. Menu is a nice mix of pub food, pizza and dinner entrees. One of the specials that night was Philly Cheesesteak, either as a sandwich or on pizza. I got the sandwich and it was great and was served piping hot. Other customers got it on pizza and seemed to enjoy it. Served with very good fries and some spicy dill pickles and cabbage. Also, nice selection of craft brews. I don't go out for dinner often when I am out of town on business, usually just grab something at a grocery store, but I certainly was gld I did this night. For this visit, I am giving it 5 stars.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlestown, Rhode Island
1 review
“Best meal I ever ate out in Charlestown”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2012

Great food, presentation, service and live music. Had salmon with a lemonchello white wine sauce with butternut risotto. Great fish, sauce and creamy rich risotto. Friendly service by staff and owner. Nice live low key music. In the winter the regular menu is burgers, wraps and pizza. Call ahead for the dinner entres which change. Would have given 5 stars if there were more entre choices.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Breachway Grill also viewed

Charlestown, South County
Charlestown, South County
 
Charlestown, South County
Charlestown, South County
 

Been to Breachway Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Breachway Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.