We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stained Sheets and Overpriced” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Wind Swept Inn

The Wind Swept Inn
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Wind Swept Inn to your Saves list
The Wind Swept Inn
2.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   10 Prosser Trail, Charlestown, RI 02813   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Charlestown B&B and Inns
Northampton, Massachusetts
1 review
“Stained Sheets and Overpriced”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2010

Don't be fooled by the nice person at the front desk. We paid $130 with tax for yellow stains on both the pillowcases and pillows, pillowcases that were too small for the pillows so there was no protection, wrinkled sheets (we think they were not changed form the last guest), strong musty smell that took a long time to air out, no batteries in the remote control (found this out too late at night), and the air conditioner facing kept falling off so we just left it on the floor. Both bulbs in the bathroom were burned out - how do you clean a windowless dark bathroom well without light? No phone number was given to us to call after the office was closed for the night and the number we had went to an answering machine. Besides where were we supposed to go on a Saturday night in August at 11 pm? So we were stuck. I asked for a refund for half the amount since we did stay in the room. I thought that was fair. The nice woman was not nice anymore. There are plenty of places to stay in R.I. - avoid this one.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    3
    2
    2
    5
See reviews for
8
6
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2010

If you are thinking of staying here- think again. Thought I would try them out because they looked good on screen and the few testimonials were good -and hey- they offered a free night even! When I arrived there was no one in office to check us in -had to wait 45 min for someone to show up on a Friday no less. When I questioned my bill the woman literally seethed at me and told me they verified it 3X on phone when I made reservations. There is NO housekeeping either!!! No phone in room or coffee maker. Had our towels for the four days we were there. No one came to clean our room ever! There was a garbage at the end of hall out on deck where you could dump your garbage.
The room was not bad but the decks all needed painting and the furniture was all rusty.
The place was a bit shady to say the least. Pay the few dollars more and stay somewhere more reputable.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guilford, Connecticut
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2010

My boyfriend and I make a weekend trip to Misquamicut every year. We've tried out different hotels/motels and Inns around the area, but this year, we decided last minute on this past weekend for the date of our trip, and there were slim pickings. There was no vacancy anywhere, and unfortunately (through expedia) as a last resort, we put a reservation in at a hotel in North Stonington, CT, only a fifteen minute drive to the beach. After reading some nightmarish reviews of the hotel we were originally supposed to stay in, we ended up stumbling across the Wind Swept Inn . First, I would not reccomend going through expedia because the voice over the phone told us there would be no charges whatsoever for any reason when my boyfriend was giving his credit card number for our reservation for the CT hotel. There would be no charges for the reservation, no charges until we showed up Saturday morning, no cancellation charges, etc. To compare, the two, we called the Wind Swept and it turned out that our room was even cheaper there than we expected it to be, and we found it a deffinite plus that they would allow us to check in at 10 am, opposed to the noon check-in. At this point, we called expedia to cancel our inital reservation, and they told us that there would be a $25 cancellation fee. When giving them the credit card number, they made it clear that nothing would be charged, now all of a sudden there is a charge?! After a long, aggrivating phone call with clueless expedia managers, they told us they couldn't refund the money, but they would give us a $25 expedia voucher...wow, how generous! (sarcasm)
We arrived at the Wind Swept Inn the next day, at 10 am and holding true to their word, they allowed us to check-in at that time. We were glad to enter into an immaculate room with bright white, clean-smelling sheets and a sparkling bathroom. We dropped our bags off and explored the rest of the day. There were many little boutiques and shops up and down the main road. There's a fresh water pond as well as beaches right in the area. Plenty of restaurants and ice cream shops. We found a small thrift store worth checking out, it had some awesome stuff locally made as well as great finds for low prices. Books, clothes, jewelery, purses, houseware, everything. My boyfriend found a brand new, name brand shirt, and after chatting it up with the owner for a few minutes, she gave it to us for $2! I would also recommend catching the flea market down the road on Sunday. They had everything old and new and for anyone who loves jewelery, it's the place to go, it was fun digging through everything to find a treasure. Everyone was friendly at the shops and the owners of the Wind Swept Inn were great. The atmosphere was very laid back, and it was quiet. Although it isn't right on Misquamicut, I found that a plus, because you don't have to deal with the roudy bar crowd at night, but if you'd like to go get some drinks, it's a seven minute drive to the party area. We got a great night's sleep and it was nice to wake up to breakfast. The coffee was perfect, not too strong, not too weak. We loved the patio, and actually ordered dinner to go and ate on the patio at the hotel instead. The property is well-kept and the flower pots everywhere add a nice touch. The Wind Swept was a great experience, highly affordable, extremely clean, a ten minute drive to everywhere. There was absolutely nothing that we didn't like, we will be sure to visit the Wind Swept Inn again very soon.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranston, Rhode Island
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2010

Would want to stay longer. Close to the beach and fresh water lake also. Picnicing, great boutiques and countryside shopping. The beds were so comfortable, could have spend my whole vacation in bed, but the blue waters of Charlestown Beach was more than desirable to get me out of bed. The waves were great. Hospitality at the Inn made us feel very welcomed and comfortable. We would definately go back and highly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Wind Swept Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wind Swept Inn

Address: 10 Prosser Trail, Charlestown, RI 02813
Location: United States > Rhode Island > South County > Charlestown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Charlestown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Wind Swept Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Wind Swept Inn located just minutes from tranquil shores in Charlestown, RI. Here you'll be transported into a world of warmth and relaxation. Drag your toes through ever so soft luxurious blond tinted sands, just minutes away. While the eco of the eastern Atlantic fills the background with song. Along the coast discover piping birds, caring for young chicklings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your The Wind Swept Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wind Swept Hotel Charlestown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Wind Swept Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.