We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Little Escape !!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Surfside Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Charlestown
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Surfside Motel
Save
You added The Surfside Motel to your Saves list
334 Narrow Lane, Charlestown, RI 02813   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Charlestown
CT
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Great Little Escape !!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

This past weekend my husband and I decided on a whim to get away for the night and bring our little dog. We found the Surfside Motel and called Debby saturday morning and they had one night available for a great rate so we headed up from CT. They only charge $25 for our pet too, so it was perfect for us.
The motel was clean and just what we needed - flat screen tv, little kitchen and AC. Its also in a great location - close to all the beaches, liquor store and "The Cove" restaurant.
The carpets are on the only thing that could use improvements -they should think about tile since this is a beach motel. I didnt want to walk on them with my bare feet.
Otherwise we would recommend and come back next summer.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    37
    11
    0
    3
See reviews for
50
51
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Haworth, New Jersey
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

I just had a great little getaway with my 3 kids and stayed 2 nights. It was just what we needed. Perfect location, nice amenities and a very warm and helpful manager. The room seemed very clean but the smell from the dirty carpet was almost too much to bear. I was thankful I had some Febreze in the car. After airing out the room and many doses of Febreze it was bearable enough to sleep in but the smell lingered until day 3, when we were checking out. It did not impact what otherwise was a great trip, as we were hardly in the room. I recommend - but bring Febreze!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Stayed here twice during the summer for a total of five nights. Made a third reservation for mid-September for one night. Was told by Debby that for that night the motel was "wide open". Unfortunately my plans changed three days later and I called to cancel the reservation. Was told at that point that there would be a $50 cancellation charge. I mentioned to Debby that I felt the charge was a bit extreme as I had just made the reservation three days prior and was giving the Surfside plenty of time to re-book the room. I then asked if she could ask the owner if the charge could be waived and to call me to let me know his decision. Never received a call. The credit on my Visa (minus the fifty dollars) is apparently my answer.
Too bad about the draconian policy...it really tarnished an otherwise fairly pleasant memory. Two other negatives: the shower curtain was moldy and the walls were paper thin. Will definitely not stay here again.

Room Tip: Stay in Newport instead!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery,Ma
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Stayed at the Surfside for five nights in august .Room was very clean and comfortable,location could not be better.Short ride to beaches and resturants ....Debbie the manager will take care of you like family...........Highly recommended!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ossining, NY
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the Surfside for 4 nights in August 2012. Overall we were quite pleased with this hotel. The room was cheerful and bright, and the motel is close to Route 1 and just a few minutes car ride from Charlestown Beach. Our room had a small kitchen which made it convenient to keep and reheat leftovers. It is also walking distance to Dunkin Donuts, a mini market, pizza place, pharmacy, bank, and ice cream stand. Several farm stands are also nearby.

While we could occasionally hear our neighbors, the walls were not as thin as others have claimed. The caretaker is rarely in the office but lives onsite and is friendly and accessible. The rooms are a little small and the carpets could use a shampooing, but overall our stay was quite pleasant!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012 via mobile

If i say how great our stay was I'm afraid it will be hard to book for next year! Really....a very clean and comfortable place to stay. 16 of us stayed in 7 rooms and we're all coming back, hopefully with even more next year! Excellent location for food and beverage runs and close to the beach. Debbie was amazing and made sure we had everything we needed! Couldn't have asked for anything more!


  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

CONS:
Overpriced. You are mostly paying for location.

The shower is made for children and/or little people. I had to stick half my body out of it in order to shave.

The room is tiny and the walls are paper thin. There was also no closet (they had an Kmart looking unit attached to the wall to hang up your clothes), a busted dresser, and no iron.

The rooms are non-smoking. There is a porch with a table area, but you are so close to your neighbors if they happen to be out there at the same time, there is no privacy whatsoever.

PROS: Great location near the beach and restaurants. Westerly, RI is not too far away. Clean. WiFi. Debbie, the office manager, is very nice and lives on site.

If you are the type of person who barely stays in your room, then the cons won't really matter.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Surfside Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Surfside Motel

Address: 334 Narrow Lane, Charlestown, RI 02813
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > South County > Charlestown
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Charlestown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Conklin Family welcomes you to the Surfside Motel. A cozy 15 room motel located near beautiful Charlestown Beach. We have efficiency units for extended stays, or standard rooms with small fridges and microwaves, A/C, cable, wireless internet, flat screen tv's with built-in DVD players, gas grills, and picnic tables outside. Clean, quiet, and comfy. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Surfside Hotel Charlestown
Surfside Hotel Charlestown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Surfside Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.