We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chiming in to agree” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Persimmon Restaurant

Persimmon Restaurant
31 State Street, Ofc 1, Bristol, RI 02809-1824
401-254-7474
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 79 Restaurants in Bristol
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Rhode Island
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Chiming in to agree”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

First time last night. Looking over recent reviews, they say it well. It was our "avoid the crowds, post-Valentine's Day" dinner, and we had a great time. Appropriate when you want something special.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    12
    5
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Providence, RI
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Perfect in every way”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

This is a perfect, out of the way, restaurant in Bristol RI. It's small and intimate. The staff are expert in everything to do with food and very pleasant. And the food is the best in the area. It is novel and light with new taste surprises and consistently delicious. I recommend the wine pairings with the tasting menu. There are excellent restaurants in the area and two others compete with Persimmon for the trifecta in my book are Nicks on Broadway and New Rivers in Providence. Each has a different, exceptional taste.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Chef Champ just does wonders with preparation of his uber fresh offerings. The lobster Risotto, when its available, is simply wonderful and the portions overall are just right. Not too much, put plenty to fill you up. The serving pace is just right and you never feel rushed to finish a meal. Great atmosphere. Persimmon remains at the top of our best restaurants list in our area. You simply can't go wrong.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhode Island
Top Contributor
181 reviews 181 reviews
154 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Our Staff Enjoyed Their Holiday Dinner A Lot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I had dinner here a few weeks ago after an absence of over a year. We decided we'd return the following week for our small holiday season dinner. They really enjoyed the atmosphere which comes accross as somewhat special. Our less experienced companion enjoyed her venison. Two of us had their steak which has a unique presentation and was well prepared. We also enjoyed an assortment of deserts.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, Rhode Island
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Fabulous creative food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Persimmon is one of the best restaurants in New England, in our opinion. The food is delicious, innovated and artistically presented. It can be a bit pricey but it is definitely worth every penny. The restaurant is small so reservations are advised.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Persimmon Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Persimmon Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Persimmon Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.