We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a B&B experience should be” 5 of 5 stars
Review of William's Grant Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added William's Grant Inn to your Saves list
William's Grant Inn
154 High Street, Bristol, RI 02809   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Direct for Best Rate
Ranked #3 of 7 Bristol B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
West Dover VT
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“What a B&B experience should be”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Anyone who wants to own a B&B or small inn should spend a few days here with Warren & Dianne because they "get it". They bring some of their interesting life stories along with a knowledge and true enjoyment of the area to the breakfast table complimenting the delicious and beautifully presented fare. We stayed in the nautically themed room off the kitchen- comfortably cozy with attention to detail- gas fireplace, good bed with quality linens, china for that late night tea I enjoyed before bed, lots of publications on nautical matters as well as local sights, and, a plus in this digital age- plenty of outlets for the gadgets we travel with. The bath and small hallway entry mute any noise from the kitchen. Breakfast was a convivial time learning a bit about each guest as we thoroughly enjoyed Dianne's pumpkin apple muffins and Warren's cheddar breakfast souffle and hashbrowns. Coffee mugs were refilled and special dietary requests were not a problem. The neighborhood is beautifully quiet and I spied a pleasant backyard. This was a quick trip for us, but we'll definitely be back.

Room Tip: Each room has a different theme; speak with the owners to choose the best room for your needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    12
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
45
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Memphis, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

We had a great Stay here, and couldn't have asked for a friendlier or more comfortable place. from the welcome chocolate chip cookies, to the handmade soap in the bathroom by a local company, it felt like staying at a cozy Grandma's house. It was clean, comfortable and had very cute de orations with Attention to every detail. I would highly recommend staying at William Grant inn Bristol.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Lower nightly fees are what lead us to Bristol, RI for our ten year anniversary getaway, but an amazing visit is what will bring us back.
We found William's Grant Inn on High Street during our search & were sold on the raving reviews on numerous sites. My husband and I are still new to the world of Bed & Breakfasts & it’s interesting how people can open their homes to strangers…and Dianne and Warren did just that. They were immediately warm & informative.
We booked two nights & were assigned to the downstairs room. It was large, clean, and historic. And after two nights we still felt there was more we wanted to see and do in the area, so we were fortunate to book another night at William's Grant Inn after Dianne & Warren informed us they had a last minute cancellation.
Breakfast all three mornings were well thought out, fresh, and delicious. Every breakfast started with fresh fruit and homemade muffins – different every day. Coffee, tea, and juice were abundant. Warren explained that they like to switch between egg dishes and carbohydrates – like waffles or pancakes, so guests staying multiple nights are treated to even more variety. We sampled two of what I’m sure are from a list of egg dishes and both were scrumptious, fluffy, and paired with an aged cheddar cheese.
There is so much to see and do in the area and simply walking out the door of the Inn leads you to what I began to call a ‘street lined museum.’ Most houses feature a plaque explaining their history and erection. The main street – Hope and a good portion of High Street display the red, white & blue center lines marking the parade route of the historic July 4th parade. Aside from a Dunkin Donuts on one corner in town, the storefronts are home to locals selling their wares. There’s a nice array of restaurants to choose from and to fit every budget.
Being near the waterfront really made us feel like we were away… and not just a little over three hours from Jersey.
Megan & Joe

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avon, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

My husband and I did a 2-night get away to check out Bristol this past July and we stayed at Willam's Grant Inn. The location can't be beat. It's walking distance to the restaurants and shops and it's on such a beautiful street with many other historic homes. The bed was extremely comfortable (which we have found hard to find when traveling), the room very clean, and the Inn-keepers, Diane and Warren, made us feel welcome. The breakfast both mornings was large and quite delicious.

For activities we went to Blithewold Mansion which is beautiful inside but also has spectacular grounds to walk around with views of the bay. We also went to Colt State Park, another great place to walk and view the bay and lastly we visited Newport and the fabulous mansions.

We will definitely go back to Bristol and would absolutely stay at William's Grant Inn again.

-The Kelleys

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

We stayed at William's Grant Inn for 3 nights in the Garden room, and found Dianne and Warren to be very welcoming hosts. Dianne was a wealth of knowledge with suggestions for things we could do whilst visiting the area, and Warren's breakfasts were exceptional. The extra touches like home-made cookies, liqueurs in the lounge, and choccies in the room were also nice.
The streets were very quiet, and the location was within easy walking distance of most of the restaurants in Bristol. Thank you!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mystic, Connecticut
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed at the Inn on a Friday night for a wedding we attended in the area. It's in a great neighborhood, with several restaurants and the waterfront just blocks away. Diane greeted us when we arrived, and she was an incredibly friendly and gracious host. Our room was perfect (see more below), and our overall stay was excellent - left nothing to be desired.

Room Tip: We stayed in the room in the back next to the kitchen. It was a tiny bit noisy, but the room had a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
williamsgrantinn, Owner at William's Grant Inn, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thank you for staying with us. Glad you had a good time and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton Park, New York
Top Contributor
186 reviews 186 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

My husband and I had to come to RI unexpectedly, so a friend put us up here. Given we didn't get here until 11:30p.m., Warren the innkeeper was very accomodating about letting us arrive late and overall was an excellent host. We checked into our bedroom that was decorated very nicely and had excellent chocolate chip cookies waiting, that my husband ate very quickly. Breakfast the next morning was served right in the owners kitchen and apple cinnamon pancakes with MA state maple syrup and an Amish butter, to die for. Considering we had a very busy day ahead, it was an excellent start and I would definitely stay there again and recommend it to others. Thanks again, Gina and Sean.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
williamsgrantinn, Owner at William's Grant Inn, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you for staying with us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to William's Grant Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about William's Grant Inn

Address: 154 High Street, Bristol, RI 02809
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Bristol
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
William’s Grant Inn is an old sea captain’s home built by William Bradford in 1808 on a quiet street a short distance from Bristol town center. It is a 5-bay Federal Colonial style, furnished throughout with antiques. Visit the large collection of teddy bears from many parts of the world, nestled within the collections of American and foreign furniture and curios and art.Many of the hanging artworks are family heirlooms done over the past century together with wonderful copies of the great masters. There are fifteen large koi in the fish pond placed in the back gardens, an oasis of fern and other greenery. The rhododendrons are magnificent in the spring.Each room is decorated in its own style with antiques. Each has a queen bed and a private bath. A full gourmet breakfast is included for all guests. Gas coal basket fires in three rooms—Blithewold, Sturbridge and Nautical Rooms. The guest parlor has television/DVD/VCR for your pleasure and a piano for those so inclined. Complimentary cold drinks, port, sherry and liqueurs are in the parlor for your enjoyment.The inn is a short walking distance to many fine restaurants and numerous shops featuring antiques, arts and crafts. Bicycles and kayaks are available for rent near the harbor. The East Bay bike path is famous for its gentle grades located upon an old railroad bed—it travels along the water for 15 miles from Bristol to Providence. Many museums and historic buildings are located in Bristol, such as Blithewold Mansion, Herreshoff Marine Museum, Americas Cup Hall of Fame, Linden Place, Coggeshall Farm, and more. Colt Sate Park is a beautiful park off the bike path adjacent to Narragansett Bay, an ideal location for open air picnics, fishing or swimming. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your William's Grant Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
William`s Grant Hotel Bristol

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage William's Grant Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.