We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average at best...try Benjamin's in Newport or deWolf's Tavern in Bristol instead” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Quito's Restaurant

Quito's Restaurant
411 Thames St, Bristol, Bristol, RI 02809-1918
(401) 253-4500
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 81 Restaurants in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
seattle
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
230 helpful votes 230 helpful votes
“Average at best...try Benjamin's in Newport or deWolf's Tavern in Bristol instead”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

My son, who is a local college student, wanted to go out for lobster but his schedule did not allow enough time to go to Benjamin's in Newport for their $17.50 boiled lobster lunch (includes chowder, salad and a boiled lobster, see my review), so we went to Quito's. He brought a friend. They both ordered the steamed lobster platter. It was pricey and it came with French fries and creamy coleslaw. (French fries?! And the coleslaw was limp and tasteless). I ordered the steamers bowl. yuck! The potatoes were almost raw, the corn was over cooked and limp and the steamer clams were gritty with sand and broth was tasteless). I know that locals recommend it but I don't know why other than it's location on the water. Of all of the places I have eaten in Bristol, the only one that has been consistently good and which I would recommend to people is DeWolf's Tavern.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    56
    25
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great, fresh seafood”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

A wonderful place for fresh seafood, seems a little over priced for fried food, although I realize food costs are going up everywhere. A great place to bring out of town guests who want the local basic seafood

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, Rhode Island
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Recommended by locals so you know it's good!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

This is a great little seafood eatery. Nothing fancy, but good tasty food. I've been here a few times and have never been disappointed. It wasn't easy working out what to eat that was gluten-free, but the waitress was happy to go back and forth to the chef until I was happy with the order.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Seafood at it's best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

This is a wonderful place to eat on the water in Bristol, RI. The kitchen has a portuguese flair and This is probably the best seafood I have ever tasted! When the weather is warm, dining waterside is preferred but the dining room is also quite comfortable.
This restaurant is a staple for the locals and sought after by the vacationer. So, arrive early but if you need to wait, before to get comfortable on the benches, partake in one of their delicious cocktails. If you are with a group, I suggest that each gets a different entree, and share.
You will come back again and again!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Water views and excellent seafood!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

I had lunch today at Quito's while visiting a friend in Rhode Island. The restaurant is right on the water and the dining area on the porch was very pleasant. Service was fast and friendly and the menu so extensive that it was tough to make a decision on a luncheon entree. The house salad was basic, crisp and fresh. I finally chose shrimp, scallops, and the tenderest calamari I have ever had over pasta with their Mediterranean sauce, a tomato sauce with garlic, kalamata olives, and peperoncini peppers. The sauce was superb and the seafood perfectly cooked. I would definitely go back and would probably order the exact same meal. Quito’s is a good choice in quaint Bristol.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Quito's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Quito's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quito's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.