We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Craft Beer and Good Eats” 4 of 5 stars
Review of British Beer Company - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
British Beer Company
29 State Street, Bristol, RI 02809
(401) 253-6700
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: British
Restaurant details
Annapolis, Maryland
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Craft Beer and Good Eats”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

My wife and I stopped at the British Brewing Company after watching the Bristol 4th of July parade (an excellent experience itself!). Kind of ironic, visiting a British-themed pub on Independence Day.

The first thing to draw my attention was the 18 beers on tap, most of which I’d never tasted. So I set off on my local craft brew sampling tour. The bartender recommended the Mayflower IPA, brewed in Plymouth MA, and it was a nice, refreshing, hoppy IPA. I also tried the Berkshire Brewing Company’s Pilsner, from South Deerfield MA. My wife went for the Newport Storm Blueberry Beer, which they augmented with a spoonful of fresh blueberries in the pint glass. Curious about a particular brew? They’re glad to give you a sample to help you decide.

Lots of options for food, ranging from traditional British meat pies and Shepherd’s Pie to some trendier offerings. My wife had a Caprese salad with Indian naan bread, while I went for the lobster Sarney sliders, which turned out to be lobster salad on naan … huge hunks of tender lobster barely dressed in a little mayo. Really good.

Service is good here, the prices are reasonable, and it’s very family-friendly. Lots of families with kids here, unusual for a pub. If you’re in Bristol and looking for refreshment, you shouldn’t pass up the British Brewing Company.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    5
    1
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

No gripes about this place. The bartender was excellent; very kind and allowed sampling of draft beers. I had the sheppards pie and it was very good. The ambiance is cozy and inviting, reminescant of woody earth-toned European dives. The place appears new and clean. It was a pleasure to dine there!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, Rhode Island
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Information”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Just FYI. Read some good things about the restaurant. Went on their website to check the menu (I made sure it was the Bristol site) and the menu looked great. When we got there the menu was about 10 items and a couple of specials (very limited). Just make sure the menu is what you want.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“A REAL pub.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

Stopped in for a pint and a Jameson's to warm up after chilly wet day. This is a real pub! abundant paneling and nice beer selection. On the small side but Fireplace was cranking and service was on spot. Small and limited menu of meat pies and pasties but really the essence of real pub experience. Steak and Stilton pie was perfect. Buffalo chicken dip and chips appetizer was good. Could have used a few more chips as the dip portion was very generous. Only suggestion is to replace video game with a real dart board!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Attleboro, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Fantastic after getting over initial disappointment of expecting the usual BBC fare”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Went here for a graduation celebration in Newport. Having thoroughly enjoyed our visits to various BBC's in Walpole, Franklin, Hyannis and Falmouth, we thought the BBC in Bristol made a world of sense for a post graduation meal and drinks. Upon walking in, we were taken aback by the smallness of the pub. We were further surprised, after being seated, by the limited food menu, and, in comparison to other BBC's, the relatively limited beer selection (which is still quite extensive in when wighed against most establishments.) We sat for several minutes, rather dumbfounded, before pulling ourselves together to make the best of things. The waiter, who also happened to be the barkeep, came over and was quite engaging, however he dealt several members of our party a blow by informing us that they don't carry their beloved BBC sangrias on the menu. At this point, we thought we were down for the count, all the things we love at the other BBC's, i.e. a full line of appies, fantastic pizza, burgers, amazing beer and wine were either non existent or somewhat limited. Fortunately, our disappointment would soon end. The barkeep said he could throw together some white wine sangrias with peach schnaaps and oranges for the party ( by all accounts they were every bit as good as to what they were used to), and he suggested an a artichoke/spinach dip as a starter, which was quite excellent (not on the menu). We ordered the pies, vegetable and shepherds, and they were well received. The barkeep came over several times and was amazingly attentive and engaging. In the end, the beer selection was beyond adequate and we were given a lunch special for pairing a lunch pie with a drink @ $10.99 each. We couldn't ask for more than that, given the meal price alone was $9.99 and the drinks ranged from $7 to $8, we were given quite a bargain and it was much appreciated. If you're looking for the typical BBC experience when you go here, you may well be surprised, but if you can get past that, you won't be disappointed. I'm rather envious of the Bristol, Ri community to have such a wonder little pub in the heart of their community. I couldn't recommend it more.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed British Beer Company also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage British Beer Company, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.