We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Leave your expectations on the mainland!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Ashley House

The Ashley House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Block Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Ashley House
Save
You added The Ashley House to your Saves list
Weldon's Way, Block Island, RI   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 30 Block Island B&B and Inns
Cranston, Rhode Island, United States
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Leave your expectations on the mainland!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

It's funny how my priorities change when heading to Block Island. Firstly, after visiting the island since I was a kid...I've yet to stay in a 5 star resort on the island and I seriously doubt those types of accommodations exist on the island. We spent 2 nights in the Christina Room, there was a large bathroom, decent sized room with Direct TV and AC...for creature comforts...having a room with AC is big on the island, most hotels & inns do NOT have it and sometimes you need it, especially if you're staying away from the ocean! Reading other reviews, I firmly believe they're simply not familiar with life on the Block. Part of the charm is that things aren't tainted--it's harking back to by-gone era. We had a great stay at the Ashley House, but I really didn't care that there was a piece of drywall tape hanging and that the walls were scuffed by the window seat? I was thrilled to have a convenient location just behind Water Street, a clean room with AC for a good night's sleep. Then again, I go to the island for a relaxing beach weekend not to spend all my time in the room? Still its nice to have the essential comforts and the Ashley House has those and has them at a price that on a weekend in high season can be a $100 less than the nearby hotels.

For morning coffee, Aldo's is right downstairs (and we even woke to the smell of the bakery in the morning)...Aldo's is also great for a little nightcap of gelato! The staff was polite, the check-in and check-out went smoothly. They have storage for your luggage in the Harborside Inn if you arrive or leave late and need to stash your stuff for another beach day.

Room Tip: Christina Room was quiet & clean...could it use a fresh coat of paint, yes...but it didn't s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    20
    10
    5
    2
See reviews for
7
29
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
White Plains, New York
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

We chose this "hotel" because it is one of the few BI establishments that did not require a minimum three night stay on a summer weekend. The rooms are located over Aldo's Bakery on a street right behind the main drag. We were concerned about street noise, but it was never an issue. The place was clean and comfortable and we had a very quiet and modern A/C unit. In the morning when we opened the windows and were treated to the aroma of fresh baked cinnamon buns. The furnishings were a bit odd but generous...oversized traditional pieces included a huge bureau with mirror, ample night tables and a comfy queen size bed...and of course the totally out of place plastic chairs. The room was small, but had very high ceilings. The lighting was rather poor and it was difficult to put on make up. One afternoon we realized housekeeping had not left enough towels but a quick phone call took care of that, though we had to go get them. The common hallway was light, airy and clean. Everything is pricey on BI, especially at the height of the season. We were there for a wedding and considered this a destination affair and that was that. The Ashley House is within walking distance of the ferry dock, many many places to eat and shop, all the moped/bike/car rental kiosks and, of course, the beach.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Kansas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

This was the only wheelchair accessible room available when we booked. A bit pricey but we booked late for the height of the tourist season. The room is small but very clean and comfortable, with a spacious bathroom featuring a roll-in shower. It is in a convenient location near the ferry. Except for having to find our way to the room without much direction, the staff was very helpful and accommodating. They improvised a shower bench within minutes of our request, located a bedside table, and showed us how to use the air conditioning unit--which may often be needed to drown out exterior noise. Suggestions to staff: Purchase a sturdy shower bench with a back, remove the area rug that catches on the bathroom door, and provide a bedside table on each side of the bed. Add a table in the bathroom to make up for lack of a vanity. And find a way to register people in an accessible location. Weird to advertise an accessible room and then require guests to climb stairs at the Harborview to register and drop off bags!!! Also, we heard machinery crank up around 5 AM one day, 6 AM the next, and keep running. Maybe a dough machine in the adjacent bakery?
Again, the helpful staff and overall comfortable room would encourage us to return here!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Take heed of the other negative commments of this place, as they are spot on. We came to block island for the first time to celebrate our anniversary. We booked the mid week package which turned out to be a total scam. With an exception for Ballards and taking the first ferry back home,this place is as dismal as the attitude of the natives. The service at the hotel was rude and unhelpful. The coupons were useless as everything had a surcharge. I have never experienced such a beautiful place with the rudest people. Never will be back. Go anywhere else in New England but here.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hartford, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Came for a couple of nights, the rate was reasonable, the room comfortable, but little things can really change an opinion. The room had a shatter window, no lock, and a roof right outside the window, hmmm. Also, the plastic deck chairs in the room didn't fit the retro antique decor. The hallway echoed voices and doors closing on a regular basis.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

This is a great location, it was clean, and we got complimentary (yummy) breakfast at the bakery downstairs BUT it was too loud for me - all of the doors - the doors to the rooms, the entry way and the door to the second floor all slam when closing - even if you don't mean to purposely slam them! I was continuously woken up all night by the doors..... If the property managers fixed this I would def stay here again. Unfortunately, we had to leave a day early due to a family emergency so I wasn't able to speak to the property managers about this.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Great location, great price, clean, and cozy. Stayed the first summer weekend in June and really enjoyed it! Very convenient to all of Block Island's main tourist attractions. Not much of a view, but since we weren't in the room unless we were sleeping or showering, it didnt hinder the vacation. Private bath & AC.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ashley House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ashley House

Address: Weldon's Way, Block Island, RI
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Block Island
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Block Island
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ashley House offers nine lovely guest rooms each with a queen bed and private bathroom. All rooms have air-conditioning and heat with TV. The Ashley House is located in the center of Old Harbor, Block Island's main town and walking distance from shops, restaurants, the Old Harbor Ferry landing and beaches. We look forward to welcoming you to the Ashley House! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Ashley House Hotel Block Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ashley House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.