We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dream Wedding Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Sullivan House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Block Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Sullivan House
Corn Neck Road, Block Island, RI 02807   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 30 Block Island B&B and Inns
Wilton, Connecticut
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Dream Wedding Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

My husband and I got married at the Sullivan House on September 1, 2012. It was our DREAM wedding spot - what could be better than views of the Atlantic and the pond from every direction? The staff couldn't have been more accommodating - Sean & Rosalie were by far complete rock stars when it came to the house and the event.

The Sullivan House itself is a bit outdated... but that is something we absolutely loved about it! We weren't looking for an all-frills type of place - we wanted something warm, with lots of charm and character - a true "old house by the sea". If you are looking for something with frills, A/C, etc., this would probably not be the place for you. Everything was extremely clean and tidy, and we couldn't have received a warmer welcome and felt more at home. There was something so calming about laying awake the night before my wedding, looking outside my open window and being able to see the stars and hear the ocean.

The breakfast was also equally as fabulous. We can't wait to stay here one day again and re-live all of the wonderful memories that we had.

Room Tip: The honeymoon suite was by far the most spacious. I'd definitely choose this one if you are a s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    17
    6
    2
    1
    4
See reviews for
5
17
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

I was recently here for a wedding and overall the place was very nice.. Stayed at the B&B for 2 nights. But what good would a review be if I didn't give some negatives. First day was very hot and the room was an oven. I get the no a/c but the room I was in didn't even have a fan. Almost every room did but for some reason mine did not. Luckily my kind mother gave me her fan and we were able to get some sleep. As it was almost all family and friends staying here I was able to check out all the rooms and they were all quite nice, hence my rating even though I think my room was sub-par... I was in room 2. It was 2 twin beds my brother and I shared. They were the two smallest beds I have ever seen, more like toddler beds. To say neither of us slept well would be an understatement. And to top it off my one window had neither curtains or a shade. This problem did persist with other rooms but we made do by draping towels... Overall very kind people and the wedding was beautiful would def recommend the place... JUST NOT ROOM 2

Room Tip: The honeymoon suite is huge and has a jacuzzi, room 1 was very nice and to be honest as stated above...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

The Sullivan House is normally booked for events, but my family and I were extremely lucky to happen upon a weekend with openings. Everything surpassed our expectations - the inn's gorgeous architecture, unique interior filled with beautiful Irish antiques, the incomparable views, fabulous breakfast, comfortable beds... The innkeeper was extremely friendly and accommodating... A truly wonderful experience.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012 via mobile

Beautiful quite b&b mike the owner is wonderful! My home away from home! Wouldn't stay any place else ever again. I have stayed at many b&bs on the island and the Sullivan house is by far the nicest!!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainville, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

We just got back from a long weekend away where we stayed at the Sullivan House. This was our first trip to Block Island and we could not have asked for a better and more welcoming place. It is located about a mile from where the ferry comes in but right across the street from the town beach. Amazing views and sunsets, no reason to leave to view a sunset from somewhere else on the island.

Our room was comfortable and we had a small fan (we could have used a fan that was a bit bigger to bring in the great breeze off the water but we did not hang out much in the room. There is a great wrap around deck with adirondack chairs that we would sit in and enjoy the views, talking with the owner and other guests.

The owner was very helpful in making recommendations. Carolina is amazing and she makes a great breakfast. If she asks if you want an omelette you are going to want to say yes!!! This is a place that you are going to want to consider checking out and staying at your next time on Block Island. We plan to make this our spot when we are back on the island. Thanks for everything!!!!

Room Tip: Rooms that are facing the beach have a bettter breeze but the rooms facing Oyster Pond and the ocean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Beautiful clean house, walking location to great sandy beach and into town. We never rented a car or bikes and enjoyed walking the beach to get to and from downtown. The views are second to none. Sits high on hill and overlooks harbor on one side and oyster pond and ocean on the other. Spent a lot of time sitting on wrap-around porch where breeze is constant. Only complaint is that our particular room (facing oyster pond) was rather hot. The breeze always came from opposite side so there was little air circulation. A fan in the room on dresser turned out to be a heat fan not a cooling one. A tasty breakfast was served each morning. Highly recommend and would definitely stay again if returning to Block Island.

Room Tip: If it's hot weather stay on harbor side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

I would recommend The Sullivan House as the perfect place to stay on Block Island. Directly across from the Town Beach, 15 minute walk to town (you can actually walk the beach to get there), epic views from the isolated peninsula upon which the property rests, clean, comfortable rooms and an amazing staff that cooks omelets for you in the AM!

Perfect!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Also consider these accommodations in or near Block Island
Independent Hot...
Show More
0.9 mi away
National Hotel
National Hotel
#2 of 5 in Block Island
3.5 of 5 stars 125 reviews
Kitchenette, Fi...
Show More
17.3 mi away
The Ocean House
The Ocean House
#1 of 2 in Watch Hill
4.5 of 5 stars 382 reviews
Free Parking, I...
Show More
16.1 mi away
Pleasant View Inn
Pleasant View Inn
#3 of 5 in Misquamicut
3.5 of 5 stars 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pool, Free inte...
Show More
15.9 mi away
Winnapaug Inn
Winnapaug Inn
#4 of 5 in Misquamicut
3.5 of 5 stars 69 reviews
Free internet...
Show More
17.4 mi away
Watch Hill Inn
Suites, Free Br...
Show More
1.3 mi away
The 1661 Inn & Hotel Manisses
The 1661 Inn & Hotel Manisses
#4 of 30 in Block Island
4.5 of 5 stars 335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sullivan House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sullivan House

Address: Corn Neck Road, Block Island, RI 02807
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Block Island
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Block Island
Also Known As:
The Sullivan House Hotel Block Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sullivan House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Sullivan House to your Saves list