We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Getaway” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Sullivan House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Block Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Sullivan House
Save Saved
You added The Sullivan House to your Saves list
Corn Neck Road, Block Island, RI 02807   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 30 Block Island B&B and Inns
Plainville, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Relaxing Getaway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

We just got back from a long weekend away where we stayed at the Sullivan House. This was our first trip to Block Island and we could not have asked for a better and more welcoming place. It is located about a mile from where the ferry comes in but right across the street from the town beach. Amazing views and sunsets, no reason to leave to view a sunset from somewhere else on the island.

Our room was comfortable and we had a small fan (we could have used a fan that was a bit bigger to bring in the great breeze off the water but we did not hang out much in the room. There is a great wrap around deck with adirondack chairs that we would sit in and enjoy the views, talking with the owner and other guests.

The owner was very helpful in making recommendations. Carolina is amazing and she makes a great breakfast. If she asks if you want an omelette you are going to want to say yes!!! This is a place that you are going to want to consider checking out and staying at your next time on Block Island. We plan to make this our spot when we are back on the island. Thanks for everything!!!!

Room Tip: Rooms that are facing the beach have a bettter breeze but the rooms facing Oyster Pond and the ocean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    18
    6
    2
    1
    4
See reviews for
6
17
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Beautiful clean house, walking location to great sandy beach and into town. We never rented a car or bikes and enjoyed walking the beach to get to and from downtown. The views are second to none. Sits high on hill and overlooks harbor on one side and oyster pond and ocean on the other. Spent a lot of time sitting on wrap-around porch where breeze is constant. Only complaint is that our particular room (facing oyster pond) was rather hot. The breeze always came from opposite side so there was little air circulation. A fan in the room on dresser turned out to be a heat fan not a cooling one. A tasty breakfast was served each morning. Highly recommend and would definitely stay again if returning to Block Island.

Room Tip: If it's hot weather stay on harbor side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

I would recommend The Sullivan House as the perfect place to stay on Block Island. Directly across from the Town Beach, 15 minute walk to town (you can actually walk the beach to get there), epic views from the isolated peninsula upon which the property rests, clean, comfortable rooms and an amazing staff that cooks omelets for you in the AM!

Perfect!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotia, New York, United States
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

I had read the previous poor reviews...and was more than a little skeptical. I was soooo pleased. The views were amazing. As for the accommodations, much better than the reviews below stated...the rooms arent a modern "Hilton hotel", however the home was built in the early 1900's...beautiful. I will be having my wedding there in August! Very excited.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, CT
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

Told about the Sullivan House by a friend and loved it. Rooms were clean with great views in all directions. Could walk to beach in about 2 minutes. No better place for sunset!

Room Tip: go for great salt pond views - unique to BI.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, Connecticut
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011

We had the misfortune to book our stay the same time as a wedding. We couldn't stay at the Sullivan House so opted for the GMB Suite. Were given practically no information... for example didn't realize taxis could take us right to GMB door but were dropped at TSH... had a terrible time finding our way one night in the dark. Nearly fell in a big puddle up by the House and no light on the GMB. Finally someone in the other half of the house turned on their light... Also were told 'no breakfast, that's only for the guests in the Sullivan House.' We had fridge/coffee maker and microwave but no advance knowledge so no supplies (except bag of coffee/cream/sugar). Never met our hostess, very pleasant housekeeper though, who showed us that bath hot water was shut off with shutoff valve because it leaked so badly. Wonderful fireworks after the wedding, compliments of the bride however, not The Sullivan House.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookfield, Connecticut
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

We rented the entire sullivan house (6 rooms) for family & guests for two days. The wedding was held outside in a tent. It was really a great way to stay close to the wedding.

Room Tip: Room 7 is best, followed by 5 ,1, & 4
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Sullivan House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sullivan House

Address: Corn Neck Road, Block Island, RI 02807
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Block Island
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Block Island
Also Known As:
The Sullivan House Hotel Block Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sullivan House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.