We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Staff and View” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn at Old Harbor

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Block Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Inn at Old Harbor
Save
You added The Inn at Old Harbor to your Saves list
231 Water Street, Box 994, Block Island, RI 02807   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 30 Block Island B&B and Inns
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Staff and View”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

From the second we pulled up with our luggage to the day we left, the staff treated us like guests in their home. They were so welcoming, friendly, helpful and fun! In addition, the private balcony gave us an amazing view of the harbor, Ballard's and the Newport bridge (at night). The location couldn't be better, as we were within walking distance from the beach, restaurants, shops and rental mopeds and bikes. Some reviews showed concern about the lack of A/C and a TV. The fact is Block Island gets an amazing breeze that cools down the island at night and the room was comfortable and we still had to use the covers in August. The lack of TV is something that is more of a pleasure than an inconvenience. Gabrielle made our stay so amazing and was so thrilled for us that we got engaged on Block Island!

We loved our time at the Inn and will stay here again as well as recommend it to family and friends!

- Jeff + Bri

Room Tip: Room number 3 with private balcony and bathroom A+
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnAtOldHarbor, Manager at The Inn at Old Harbor, responded to this review, September 16, 2012
Bri & Jeff, Best Wishes & Congratulations on your engagement! We're so happy for you, and we hope you will return to IOH for more special weekends together. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience in a review --you described the late day breeze off the harbor perfectly. Glad to know you had such a special weekend with us on BI. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    16
    6
    4
    0
See reviews for
11
50
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

We had a great stay at the Inn at Old Harbor. The room was clean and quaint, and the location was ideal. We had a nice deck attached to our room overlooking the harbor. The inn is right in the middle of town, close to restaurants, shops, bike/moped rentals, you name it. The staff, Gabrielle and Thom, went out of their way to welcome and guide us during visit.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnAtOldHarbor, Manager at The Inn at Old Harbor, responded to this review, September 15, 2012
We're so glad you chose Inn at Old Harbor for your visit to Block Island. Thank you for your review, and we look forward to welcoming you back to IOH for another stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southborough, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

It was our first trip to Block Island and I am thrilled I read about their midweek special here on TripAdvisor. We just had two days and no car so we needed convenience and you can't get any more convenient than this place! Steps from the ferry, we parked our bikes and walked up the stairs. Our room was ready and Tom answered every question we had and gave us spot-on restaurant recs. We dropped our stuff and started our bike tour. Got back in time for wine and cheese (nice touch!) and showering for dinner. Walked around town a bit, had our dinner, then hit the movie theatre (right across the street). No AC, but lovely breeze with open windows and the ferries stop running at 8 pm so it was mostly quiet. But the docks start up again at about 6:45 am so if you are a light sleeper and like to sleep in, DO NOT stay anywhere in town. Enjoyed coffee on our deck and watching the throngs of people come off the ferry and transform the quiet town. Had to check out, but were able to leave our stuff in the common room and get on our bikes again. Biked and beached all day, and were able to use the common shower on the third floor (we remembered to save our towels from the room for conservation's sake), thus able to grab dinner out somewhere before the last ferry clean and refreshed. The common room and the shower at this inn allow you to actually enjoy a full first and last day on the island before and after checkout - which in my mind makes paying the Block Island B&B prices much more palatable. The whole place was spotlessly clean, staff incredibly friendly and it instantly felt like home. As long as it stays in the hands of Gabrielle and her crew, we will definitely be back and would heartily recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnAtOldHarbor, Manager at The Inn at Old Harbor, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Your informative review will be so helpful for others planning their trip to BI. We're very happy you enjoyed your stay, and we appreciate your feedback. Thank you for your kind words -- come visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

The personal attention from the friendly staff was amazing. We have been coming to Block Island for decades and no place has compared to this Inn. We loved our private deck, but ended up moving to the shared deck for hours of entertaining people watching. While the rain delayed our plans for a beach trip, it made the people watching even more exciting. The owner/manager Gabrielle was extremely attentive to our needs the entire trip. Make sure not to miss the Wine & Cheese! We will definitely be coming back!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnAtOldHarbor, Manager at The Inn at Old Harbor, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Mike, Thank you for your kind words. As a seasoned BI visitor we're delighted that you found IOH this summer, and we look forward to welcoming you back. I enjoyed your description of sitting on the front balcony! Gabrielle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

My wife has been visiting Block Island since her childhood (and we won't tell how long that has been...but it is measured in many decades!). Our visit to this low-key and quaint island was made very special by our choice of the Inn at Old Harbor for our overnight stay.

Gabrielle and her staff are doing almost everything right in managing their 'new' property. Things that were expected - and delivered include:

* Top-Notch Housekeeping. Everything was clean as could be. Showers, sinks, bedding, even the baseboards! Mold can be an issue with older island properties - and there was no even a hint of this indoors at this property.

* Hot water with good pressure. This can be a challenge in some older properties – but not here. The shower was very nice with great pressure and volume.

* Comfy Bed. Although older, the bed was quite comfortable. Pillows were fresh and fluffy.

* Friendly, Helpful Staff. Each and every staff member of the Inn was more than helpful. Customer service is not just a slogan – they are living it every day.

As the other reviewers have mentioned, the evening wine and cheese, combined with a wonderful wrap-around balcony and comfy chairs makes for a great way to enjoy the town quieting down as the last ferries pull away.

Here some tips to help plan your Block Island overnighter at the Inn:

1) Ask for a room with a private balcony when making your reservation. You can watch the harbor as the sun sets in the evening sipping your glass of wine from the wine and cheese hour!

2) Don’t be afraid to call Tom or Gabrielle if there’s nobody at the check-in kiosk on your arrival (the number’s on the stand). They are more than happy to guide you through the Inn until they can get back from errands to personally check you in.

3) If you visit their website http://innatoldharbor.com/ using Internet Explorer 9 (IE9) and it comes up looking blank-ish (missing text) – click the little ‘compatibility mode’ icon on the right-hand edge of the address bar and it will come right up the way it should. I understand this is being fixed – but for now this trick helps make the web page work properly.

4) If you arrive at the Inn early (before check-in), you can leave your bags at the Inn until your room is ready. The same goes on check-out. The Inn is immediately above (in front of) the ferry dock, so it is an easy walk with your bags to and from the ferry.

One other item of note: Our room was not air conditioned for our mid-August visit. There was a box fan in the room, and this was more than adequate to help circulate the cool ocean breeze from the open windows and keep us comfortable during the night.

We would definitely stay here again on our next Block Island visit.

Room Tip: A room with a private balcony is great in the evenings. The hustle and bustle from the dock area qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnAtOldHarbor, Manager at The Inn at Old Harbor, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
What a descriptive and helpful review for future Inn at Old Harbor guests! We're glad you enjoyed your balcony room during your stay. The website has been upgraded for IE9 compatibility since your visit, and we appreciate your identifying a solution. We hope to see you again for another visit to BI.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, CT
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

I am so impressed with the personal attention we received from the staff at The Inn at Old Harbor! Typically, we have found that when we travel, it is difficult to have our requests honored in a timely fashion. Not so at The inn! Before we could even begin to ask for anything, the staff was anticipating our needs. They tended to my children in a spirited and loving fashion, and developed a relationship with our family that will be certain to have us returning annually! Kai, Tom and Gabby went above and beyond the call of duty. We loved the quaint decor and the time-honored ambiance. It was lovely to relax in the afternoon with complimentary wine and cheese; we all enjoyed the home-baked goods at breakfast to go along with our fruit and coffee (please send the crumb-topped coffee cake recipe!). Thanks again for a memorable stay!

Room Tip: We stayed in the two-room suite on the third floor and it was lovely! We were slightly nervous when...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnAtOldHarbor, Manager at The Inn at Old Harbor, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Carla, How nice to know that you and your family thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us at IOH. We're so happy you chose our Inn for your summer getaway, and we look forward to welcoming all of you back for an annual vacation. I will send you Aunt Peggy's coffee cake recipe soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranston, Rhode Island, United States
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

Very charming, friendly staff and guests. Beds a little hard, but that could just be me. No TV...which I'm not too sure how I missed that. Lovely breezes, clean conveinent rooms and great location. Definitely try for a room with your own deck!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
InnAtOldHarbor, Owner at The Inn at Old Harbor, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. with us in the heart of Old Harbor. Please know there is a 37 inch television with over 170 DIRECTV channels in the Common Room for guest use. We hope to welcome you back to IOH for a future visit..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Inn at Old Harbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Old Harbor

Address: 231 Water Street, Box 994, Block Island, RI 02807
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Block Island
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Block Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Kept Secret on Water Street! Inn at Old Harbor is a charming and beautiful Victorian building Located on a hill overlooking the harbor at the head of downtown. Our 8 guest suites are decorated with period antiques, vintage iron beds, and they are filled with light and airy summer breezes. All but one have private en suite baths, and many feature private waterfront balconies. In season, a light continental breakfast is served in our guest lounge, followed by wine and cheese from 5-6pm (in season). We have a wrap-around deck full of rocking chairs to observe the bustling downtown area or to relax and watch the boats glide by on the harbor. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Inn At Old Harbour Hotel Block Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn at Old Harbor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.