We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, clean place to stay - no frills.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Island Manor Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Block Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Island Manor Resort
Chapel Street, Block Island, RI 02807   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 hotels in Block Island
Austin, Texas
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Nice, clean place to stay - no frills.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2008

We have a timeshare, and stayed for a week at Island Manor Resort. The hosts, Lee and Tatiana, are very warm and welcoming, and we appreciated Lee's warning about Hurricane Noel and its effect on the ferry schedule.

We had the 3rd room from the end closest to the road, upstairs. It was an efficiency, with a queen size bed, pull out sofa, bath with a tub/shower combo, and kitchen. The furniture is very dated, but clean. There was a small TV, and VCR. The resort has a small library of VHS tapes in a variety of genres. there are no laundry facilities on-site, and since we were there in the off season, there were not any open on the island.

This is just the place to meet your basic needs while on vacation.

  • Liked — Location, hosts.
  • Disliked — Furniture dated, not very comfortable for lounging.
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    10
    5
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
8
11
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2008

Took my three kids for a family event to BI. We had the downstairs end unit closest to town. While the room smelled like they'd had some water at some point, once I opened the windows it was fine, and it was much more convenient for us to be downstairs in that location (with our wagon and feet for transportation). The couple who manage the property are fabulous and were very helpful. Of all our relatives who stayed at the most expensive places, we had nicer accomodations than many of them--had CAC, our own bathroom, kitchen, tv, vcr, grill--and we were able to stay for the whole week where they could only stay a few days because their rooms were so expensive. We didn't have our car because we missed the car ferry to the island but we were able to hitch a ride with relatives to see the sights. My kids LOVED Block Island--I had been there several times years ago so I knew how great it can be. It is a quick walk to downtown, the ferry, the public beach or Ballards beach, the library with internet access. Of course, they loved Hurrican Beach with the big waves and the walk down to the rocky beach by that lighthouse that was moved several years ago, can't remember the name. Would love to go back soon but would get a larger unit.

  • Liked — Price, room amenities compared to other properties, and location.
  • Disliked — Room was a little smelly at first.
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Narragansett, Rhode Island
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2007

We used our RCI membership to stay at the Island Manor Resort. I've been coming to Block Island for 33 years and already know what the Island has to offer. All we were looking for was a basic place to stay and the Island Manor Resort exceeded our expectations. (Our = my husband, 3 year-old son and me)

I am giving it 3 stars because while it is very nice there were some drawbacks. We had a studio unit with a bed and pull-out couch. The bed did not have a bedspread on it, just a blanket which I thought was kind of strange and which took away from the room's appearance. Also, the carafe that came with our coffee maker had a chip at the spout so making coffee was something of a painful process since coffee and water spilled everywhere each time you attempted to pour from it.

Also, while we had an adequate supply of towels, it was just that: barely adequate. 4 towels total. The only reason it was enough was because there were no other females in our group. Most women I know use 2 towels. Also, there is no maid service. They do have a "towel exchange" once during the week (Wednesday) where you have to manually bring your towels to the office and exchange them for an equal amount to take up to your room.

Although there is no maid service and a barely adequate supply of towels, management makes it quite clear that they expect to receive a tip at the end of your stay. For what? Because the room was clean upon arrival? Tips are for service that goes above and beyond. We laughed at the tip envelope and, of course, did not leave anything. We are not adverse to leaving a hefty tip but it has to be for actual service rendered during your stay!!!

Now for the good: The management is quite friendly. We were pleasantly surprised to find the array of goodies available for all guests to borrow: beach toys, movies, books, boogie boards, beach chairs, umbrellas. We actually left a huge assortment of beach toys with the resort that we had brought with us (so that could be our tip...ha! ha!). Also, there are gas grills spaced on the lawn which allowed for pleasant evening barbecuing.

Additionally, there is a small playground which is suitable for young children. There is a fence running around the perimeter of the property which allowed me to feel comfortable as my son ran around the lawn.

There is a huge deck running along the front of each building (2 buildings total). Each room has a swinging chair, plastic tables, and a huge (kitchen size) table complete with chairs outside of it, making it very inviting to hang around outside. Additionally, chaise lounges and picnic tables are located on the lawn by the barbecues which make it very pleasant to hang around on the lawn instead of the deck if you are so inclined. All of this was very handy since we had a ton of visitors throughout the week.

The resort itself is walking distance from town and the beach but does not afford any sort of view. However, I don't see this as a drawback. It is very quiet at night and they have a "no noise" policy after 9 p.m.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay and are already booked for next year. One tip: ask for rooms 21 - 25 since they directly overlook the barbecues. Our room was above the parking lot and next to the office. Because the owners are pleasant, this wasn't a problem but I did feel a certain lack of privacy.

  • Liked — Goodies management allows you to borrow.
  • Disliked — Lack of daily maid service and inadequate towel supply.
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Battle Creek, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2007

Lee and Tatiana, the resorts hosts, are simply the most personable, warm and welcoming couple we've ever encountered. They helped us with all our Isand needs. Always had suggestions on dining, biking routes, sites to see, etc. That in itself is enough to make us want to go back again.

Stayed October 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhode Island
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2007

The Island Manor Resort is not a fancy place by any means. But it is a safe, clean place to stay especially with children or teens. The rooms have a kitchenette with all of the conveniences and the manager is happy to help you with the smallest details. Anyone who has checked out places to stay in Block Island knows that they are all very expensive--over $200 a night for a room in a bed and breakfast ---with no phone, tv, air conditioning or access to a kitchen or even a microwave and never mind a private bathroom! If you rent a unit at the Island Manor for a week it is usually a lot cheaper than a bed and breakfast. It is a great place to come back to after a day at the beach or strolling along the streets. There are grills for cooking out and picnic tables to eat at. A nice, relaxing, laid -back place.

  • Liked — short walking distance to beach ,shops and ferry
  • Disliked — rooms are outdated
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2007

Stayed in a studio efficiency third week of July 07'. The hosts are a genuine couple who helped me feel at home. Complimentary beach chairs and umbrellas saved a couple of bucks. Expected street noise didn't materialize. My rating would be above average but for the murphy and sofa beds in unit 21 needing replacement. Didn't need a car with the bicycle handy. Decent as an interval getaway.

  • Liked — hosts
  • Disliked — no free foot massage
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indiana
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2007

Great place to stay. We had the two connecting rooms, one with
a queen bed , pullout couch and bathroom with tub/shower. the other connecting room had a pullout couch, refrig,sink, stove and
also a bathroom with tub/shower.

two adults and two children fits nicely into this setup, we stayed 7 nights and loved, very close to capt. nicks and all the shops etc.

everything within walking distance, very clean rooms and the staff was great !!!

  • Liked — close to everything
  • Disliked — no airconditioning, but really did not need it, very nice cool nights in the summer and breeze from the ocean
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Island Manor Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Manor Resort

Address: Chapel Street, Block Island, RI 02807
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Block Island
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 hotels in Block Island
Also Known As:
Island Manor Hotel Block Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Island Manor Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Island Manor Resort to your Saves list