We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good for Block Island” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Spring House Hotel

Spring House Hotel
52 Spring Street, Block Island, RI 02807
14014665844
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Spring House Hotel is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #7 of 60 Restaurants in Block Island
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic, Doing business
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Dining style: Fine Dining
Description: The Main Dining Room consists of our grand indoor dining room, as well as our ocean view patio, and provides patrons with exquisite fine dining. When available, the Spring House Hotel kitchen strives to use vegetables from our very own gardens, Many of our dish’s are created solely to utilize what we grow in our own backyard. We believe that self sustainability with organically grown herbs and vegetables is the healthiest way to cook. We strive to source all produce organically and or hormone and pesticide free if available, collaborating with Farm Fresh Rhode Island, we are able to source local farmers and purveyors throughout New England.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
144 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
“Very Good for Block Island”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Block Island is a very special beautiful place, Ireland meets Malibu, but it is not a dining mecca.

The Spring House is literally a grand, old hotel, with a terrific setting and a great summer ambience with Adirondacks on the lawn and tables on the porch and patio.

It sounds snobby and it is, but to foodies used to dining in cities like NYC or LA, etc, the standards are different. By those standards, the restaurant is average. Coupled with ambience, average is enough to make you want to go there. And if you are on BI, this is one of a handful of superior places to eat.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    39
    11
    13
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Milford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Martini Nights are the best”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

If you are on Block Island and hear of the martini night at the Spring House, go to it. A great time! The entertainer doesn't stop. This guy goes on and on for over 2-hours straight. Would also recommend trying the 'black and blue martini'. Great cocktail.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
35 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Okay meal”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

The Spring House is a nice place to dine, but nothing to rave about. The restaurant is located in an old hotel and has a musty odor.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dennis, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
48 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great location - Great bartender - Great Wines/Martini's”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We stopped in for drinks and the view ... ended up having dinner. The bartender makes a super chocolate martini and really knows about wines. We had pizza for dinner and the lobster mac and cheese ... there was lots of lobster in it!!!!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton, CT
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Customer Service 101 - Grade F”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

THIS REVIEW IS FOR THE RESTAURANT - NOT THE HOTEL.

If your meal sucks don't bother asking for Frank the Shank (aka the owner's son/manager). I would give them negative stars if the option was available.

My friend always raves about the Spring House so I went there twice this week - once this past Sunday evening and again tonight - July 4th. Both times the service was slow and when there were issues the owner's son and manager "Frank the Shank" was excessively rude, choosing to chastise me, the customer rather than addressing his restaurant's service/quality issues.

Tonight, July 4th, the family went there - arrival time 8:30pm.

We received lackluster food and service. When we commented/complained about the overcooked risotto and the nasty cheese in the poorly prepared eggplant - the manager temporarily placated us with a vinegar-like glass of wine that they couldn't have paid me to actually drink, and didn't even take them (the offensive food) off of the bill.

Appetizers took well over an hour to be served and entrees were overpriced and poorly prepared. Apparently the owner's son needs to take customer service 101. Rather than apologizing and having the brains to get his $10,000 cappuccino machine serviced (the foam dissipates immediately and is basically nonexistent) - he chose to reprimand me as a customer and say that he sees me every day (only went there twice) and he hasn't seen me smile yet. Well FRANK, I'm sorry, but smiles ARE NOT something you are entitled to when your establishment has given me nothing but lackluster service and overpriced and poorly prepared food.

If you want a truly delicious meal head over to Eli's or even to the National or Ballard's (they have great 8 oz burgers and if you have any issues the managers there treat you with respect and INSTANTLY resolve any issues you may have).

I know this review seems a bit harsh, but one of the people in our party is actually a CHEF and has his own restaurant and another was a gourmet cook (me) and confirmed foodie.

Sorry Spring House, but I will NEVER GO BACK and recommend that others do the same. (My dad always says Service, Quality, Price - pick two - Unfortunately, the Spring House Restaurant offers none of these.)

  • Visited July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spring House Hotel also viewed

New Shoreham, Block Island
New Shoreham, Block Island
 
New Shoreham, Block Island
New Shoreham, Block Island
 

Been to Spring House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spring House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.