We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Atlantic Inn

Atlantic Inn
359 High St, Block Island, RI 02807
401-466-5883
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 53 Restaurants in Block Island
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Contemporary
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Bayonne, New Jersey
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Terrible”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We have been there numerous times. it is great to sit out on the lawn with martini before dinner. The service, drink and view were spectacular. we went in for dinner and it was all down hill. the food and service were terrible. we selected price fix with 2 small appetizers, entre and dessert. we sent back 1 appetizer, both entries and did not even bother to complain about the desssert. since it was price fix there was not much they would do as far as taking off $ but they took some off. that is not the point you go to enjoy and not get an attitude or terrible food. Talking to others we met around the island there were additional complaints so we were not the only ones having a bad experience. The worst was the fish - sent it back because it was over cooked then they sent it to the table 98% raw they wanted to try again but who would. We will go again but only sit outside for martini then head out elsewhere

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    10
    4
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Shelburne, Vermont
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Really, really good!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We started with a cocktail outside. ( If nothing else, you must visit for tapas and the sunset one evening. Outside is very family friendly. Your kids can literally roll down the hill whole you sip your martini.) The Inn has one of the best views on the Island. We then enjoyed the price fixe menu, with 2 apps, an entree and a chef's bite. The portions are smaller, so the amount of food isn't overwhelming. I had the wild mushroom strata, the seared scallops and swordfish. The sides and sauces elevate the meal to another level. Really, really good. The Altantic Inn & Eli's (same owners) are the two best restaurants on the Island, in my opinion.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Grove, New York
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Phenomenal food, gorgeous sunset views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Wow! We enjoyed the Price Fixe menu which included 2 appetizers, an entree and a dessert for $52. Every single dish was amazing. The chef also sent out an additional starter for us to try. Scallops were cooked perfectly as was the rack of lamb. The creme brulee was unbelievably good.

Tip: go early, have a cocktail on the lawn. Reserve a window seat and hope for a gorgeous sunset. The pics included were taken from the porch of the Atlantic Inn.

You can also skip dinner in the restaurant and have drinks and Tapas on the lawn instead.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somers, Connecticut
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

We were only on BI for 3 days, and we visited this resturant twice! Excellent food and service, great beer, wine and frozen drinks! Awesome view

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Beautiful view but only for drinks”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful view, nice dining room and very good witstaff but that doesn't make up for the chef or the management. We had a table of 11, our bill was over $850. All of the entrees came out warm, 2 (hanger steaks) were sent back b/c they were cold. The chef decided to just recook them so that they were now well-done & chewy...pretty much inedible. They only took off 1 entree and no one, except the waitress seemed to care. Not what you would expect from a 4 star restaurant. Would not recommend it or ever go back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Atlantic Inn also viewed

Block Island, RI
Block Island, RI
 

Been to Atlantic Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Atlantic Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.