We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fish on the Block” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Finn's Seafood Restaurant

Finn's Seafood Restaurant
212 Water Street, Water St., Old Harbor, Block Island, RI
401-466-2473
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 53 Restaurants in Block Island
Price range: $10 - $35
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Fish on the Block”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

Finn's is a very casual seafood restaurant in Old Harbor near the ferry dock. It's been there for years. Nothing fancy and the food is sometimes bland but the place is family friendly. I was disappointed in the smal portion of fried scallops this time after many visits over the last 20 years. Fried seafood, fish sandwiches and the Lobster dinners are the best bets here. Nice to sit on the outdoor deck for the view of Water Street and the harbor. Also offers take-out if you're headed to the ferry.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    48
    34
    9
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Providence, RI
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“very good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

After bicycling on Block Island, we were looking for a restaurant for a casual lunch. It was a beautiful day so we sat outside on the patio and ordered from the take out window. Our food was made to order and was very good.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tiverton
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Lobster is always good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

There is usually a wait but the lobster here is always good. The restaurant is a no frills place so you can show up right off the beach or ferry. From the deck you can watch the boats coming and going and enjoy the laughter and good times all the while knowing that the food will be great.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
246 reviews 246 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 113 cities Reviews in 113 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
“Family of 5”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

We had a great meal of lobster, steamers, scallops, and fried clams. Server was great and helpful pointing out ways to save with the kids. Everything was fresh. Yes, island pricey, but what do you expect on block island? Still cheaper than the vineyard, cape, etc. my gripe island wide is being charged for every drink. Don't expect your iced tea, coffee, or soda to be refilled without a charge.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BI
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

5 adults and 1 teen came for dinner. everyone was pleased with their meal choices of sword with fresh sweet corn, LOBSTER!!! local oysters ,the tuna salad plate and fried fish and chips. the service was great . we arrived right before the whole place filled up. Irina was always smiling even as she became very busy. i am partial to Finns as they have fresh seafood from their fish market. i was proud to bring family members and friends for dinner there and will many summers to come!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Finn's Seafood Restaurant also viewed

 
Block Island, RI
 

Been to Finn's Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Finn's Seafood Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;