We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible hospitality” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Manisses Gazebo

Hotel Manisses Gazebo
5 Spring St, Block Island, RI 02807
(800) 626-4773
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 52 Restaurants in Block Island
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Horrible hospitality”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

Went there for special occasion upon a recommendation and was completely disappointed. The food was very good, but the service was some of the worst. The bus girl was more attentive and helpful than our waitress. The host went to every table, but ours to ask how everything was....twice. This occurred 4 years ago after our wedding and it still gets me today. On a side note, go upstairs to the hotel and enjoy some of their flaming coffees. Coffees are great and and service was awesome.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    29
    9
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Lobster risotto is phenomenal!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

We spent a few days mini-honeymooning on Block Island in June of 2010 and enjoyed dinner here 2 out of our 3 nights. Everything about the experience was wonderful, including the service, food and ambience! The huge chunks of lobster in our mashed potatoes and risotto make me long for another trip to Hotel Manisses/Block Island. We get slivers of lobster in similar attempts of such dishes here in Philly. The flaming coffee in the parlor is fun, too, and a must try!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon Rockville, Connecticut
2 reviews
“Dinner by the sea”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We have eaten in the Manisses many times this past summer. Their food is gourmet, very tasteful and presented beautifully. The wait staff, hostess -Robin and bartenders Jerry and Robbie are very accommodating and friendly. Flaming coffees in the parlor are a must presented by Anthony. Very enjoyable experience due to the on site attention by the Draper family.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Was not impressed with my dish”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012 via mobile

While there was nothing wrong with my dish, Asian Slaw, there was nothing special about it and for the price I expected to be impressed. It was mostly cabbage and lacked richness in flavor. However, it's a real cozy atmosphere and the service was excellent. Perhaps other dishes are more impressive in flavor. The olive spread, by the way, was awesome. I would return here again and try a different dish for another chance.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon MA, USA
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
244 helpful votes 244 helpful votes
“not a great place for vegetarians”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

we were here in october 2012. It was nice to see that each food item on the menu had small codes like (V) or (NF) for vegan or nut-free. I got the Asian Slaw. It was basically stir-fry cabbage with tofu and sesame seeds. Nothing gourmet or special about this dish.

My spouse ordered the sole dish -- full of cream and butter -- this can make anything taste good.

the most memorable thing about the food here was the olive tapenade they brought to spread on the bread.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hotel Manisses Gazebo also viewed

Block Island, RI
Block Island, RI
 

Been to Hotel Manisses Gazebo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Manisses Gazebo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.