We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A foodie's delight!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Manisses Gazebo

Hotel Manisses Gazebo
Spring St., Old Harbor, Block Island, RI
401/466-2421
Update restaurant details
Ranked #6 of 48 restaurants in Block Island
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: Contemporary
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
maryland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“A foodie's delight!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Everything was wonderful and creative. Loved the scallops with turmeric. Great salads too. Romantic dining room and reasonable for food at this level.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

81% Recommend
    52
    24
    6
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Block Island, Rhode Island
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful dinner for a double anniversary”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012 via mobile

We were joined by friends who were celebrating their wedding anniversary with ours. Gerry's bartending skills were perfect, as always. The scallops, salmon, and pasta with procuitto and duck were all excellent.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

My fiancee and I treated ourselves to the restaurant at Hotel Manisses after seeing their menu in a guide to Block Island restaurants at our b&b.

We called ahead and were told that seating was first come, first served after 7p, and when we arrived around 730p we were told there was approximately an hour wait. We ordered a bottle of wine from the bar and sat at a secluded little table on their grounds. Our hostess tracked us down after only about half an hour and said a table was ready for us, which was nice.

The food here was fantastic. We ordered the pear bisque, mussels appetizer, and a cheese plate to start. We should have ended there, because the portions were quite large, particularly the cheese plate, which also included crackers and mounds of grapes and berries. We ate the cheese before our entrees and had fruit for dessert. It was really very good. My fiancee ordered filet mignon, which was very tasty, and cooked just to her specifications, and I only wanted a side of the lobster mashed potatoes, which was excellent. We left completely stuffed, and the prices were very reasonable considering the quality of the food and the portions that were served to us.

Our only criticism is that the staff didn't seem like it was quite at the same level as the food and the setting; with the exception of our hostess, who was very pleasant and efficient, the bartender and server with whom we interacted didn't seem that prepared in how to interact with customers in an elegant setting such as this one. They were definitely not rude or inappropriate, but could have been a little more personable and attentive, in my opinion.

We would definitely go back to this place, though, the next time we are on the island; we left so full that we could barely walk back to the b&b. The food was, truly, excellent, with a great atmosphere in which to enjoy it.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dennis, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“FINE DINING IN A GREAT SETTING”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We loved the relaxed atmosphere ... our meals were great ... loved the option they have of getting 1/2 a salad/ and 1/2 a dinner. The only drawback to our meal was that our server spilled some of my martini and poured wine down the side of my husband's glass. Would recommend going before sunset so you can enjoy the gardens/water fountain.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, MA
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Very good meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

The restaurant is downstairs at the Hotel Manisses in a very pretty setting. Our waitress was wonderful and very knowledgeable about the island. The food was very good. Our soups were superb. He had a scallop and potato puree which was excellent and I had a butternut asian pear puree with tumeric that was spicy and good. His swordfish was perfectly done and my scallops were great. The mango parfait dessert was wonderful. This is not an inexpensive restaurant, but it is worth the price.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hotel Manisses Gazebo also viewed

Block Island, RI
Block Island, RI
 

Been to Hotel Manisses Gazebo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Manisses Gazebo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.