We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good, even by foodie standards” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Eli's

Eli's
456 Chapel St., Block Island, RI 02807
401-466-5230
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 53 Restaurants in Block Island
Price range: $14 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
“Very good, even by foodie standards”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

My family and I feel almost handicapped by our devotion to eating well. I suppose some would call us food snobs, but the fact is it can be hard to find a place to eat if you really want quality, fresh ingredients.

Thank goodness for Eli's. Wow. Not just good "for Block Island", but good by anyone's standards anywhere. Not just good but very good. Not just very good but creative, too!

Pros: Fairly broad menu, very fresh and good quality, interesting and new dishes (for example, the insalata caprese had balsamic "pearls" --- Id not seen that before, and my duck breast had Moroccan spices and a yogurt sauce). Relatively fast service.

Cons: Blah atmosphere, could use some bistro-ing. Tables crowded (hard to get in and out). I don't think they take reservations; people line up outside before opening time.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    35
    5
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Rhode Island
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Not to be missed!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

No reservations, expensive, very small and usually a long wait- yes it's worth it. It may not be the best choice for bringing your kids but for those who appreciate fresh, local, and innovative food it is as good as Block Island has to offer.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon MA, USA
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
252 helpful votes 252 helpful votes
“ask for special Vegetarian Menu”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

we read online that they catered to vegetarians, but when we were seated we saw only meat/fish items. We were about to walk out and asked the waitress about vegetarian options. She then gave us a complete vegetarian menu.

Food was very good -- it was great to have options -- this is rare for Block Island at this time of year.

The place is small and the background music consisted of pop songs not to my liking.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Most Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

In our minds Eli's is the best place on the island but in truth the 1661 Inn is equally joyful. But Eli's is small and dead-center in town and the wait staff are experienced and calm, and the steaks and seafood melt in your mouth, and the artwork is vibrant, even the three horses overlooking the barn.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Delicious, Romantic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Absolutely the best dinner on the island- so yummy and fresh - so glad we went there! Expensive but worth it! Plus, there is an option to share a plate for a minimal charge. The bread was to die for.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eli's also viewed

 

Been to Eli's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eli's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.