We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ask for special Vegetarian Menu” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Eli's

Eli's
456 Chapel St., Block Island, RI 02807
401-466-5230
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 53 Restaurants in Block Island
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $14 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner
Sharon MA, USA
Top Contributor
178 reviews 178 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
266 helpful votes 266 helpful votes
“ask for special Vegetarian Menu”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

we read online that they catered to vegetarians, but when we were seated we saw only meat/fish items. We were about to walk out and asked the waitress about vegetarian options. She then gave us a complete vegetarian menu.

Food was very good -- it was great to have options -- this is rare for Block Island at this time of year.

The place is small and the background music consisted of pop songs not to my liking.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    37
    5
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Most Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

In our minds Eli's is the best place on the island but in truth the 1661 Inn is equally joyful. But Eli's is small and dead-center in town and the wait staff are experienced and calm, and the steaks and seafood melt in your mouth, and the artwork is vibrant, even the three horses overlooking the barn.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, Connecticut
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Delicious, Romantic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

Absolutely the best dinner on the island- so yummy and fresh - so glad we went there! Expensive but worth it! Plus, there is an option to share a plate for a minimal charge. The bread was to die for.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Absolutely the BEST!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Every time we visit Block Island, we dine at Eli's. We have never been disappointed in any area of our dining experience. The last time there we had their mussels with Thai curry...outstanding. Enough for two and even though it was an appetizer, it was enough for an entree. The double chocolate bread pudding was decadently delicious. Eli's doesn't take reservations, so arrive early. Eli's is the TOP DOG on Block Island!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia PA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“One of Our Favorites on Block Island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

We've been back many times and always have a very nice experience. The food is delicious, imaginatively and attractively presented, and the service is much better than you might expect from the context. It is small, and they don't take reservations, so you might have a bit of a wait, but it will be well worth it. Interesting wine selections, also. Plus, they are open during the winter, when most Block Island restaurants close, which gives them an extra star in my book!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eli's also viewed

 

Been to Eli's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eli's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.