We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply great food; done well” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Eli's

Eli's
456 Chapel St., Block Island, RI 02807
401-466-5230
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 50 Restaurants in Block Island
Price range: $14 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner
South Hadley, Massachusetts, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Simply great food; done well”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We picked this restaurant based on the menu we saw in a guide book. This restaurant takes wonderful ingredients and keeps them simple.

We started with the tuna nachos, this was a great example of every bite having a purpose. We had the pork chop and the monkfish for our entrees and they were both amazing. I love restaurants that just rely on quality ingredients and don't need to cover food up with fancy tricks to fool the diner.

This restaurant spoiled me to other places on the island. The bar was set very high and we did not find another meal that matched up!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    35
    5
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Holliston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
“Gourmet Food in a Relaxed Atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

The laid back atmosphere was terrific and the tuna nachos a home run followed by the crab pasta dish. The homemade pasta was silky and light!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton, CT
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Absolutely Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

Eli's has very delicious food and excellent service. Some people expressed distaste over the size of the restaurant, but they simply have fantastic food, and the quaintness just ads to the charm.

If you can get a seat at the bar, go ahead and eat there - the food will be just as delicious. They also happily split meals for you if you aren't a huge eater. I heartily recommend the ribeye steak and the arugula salad with the delicious goat cheese.

It is very cozy and the perfect place for a romantic a date. Yummo!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wading River, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“divine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

This little place off the beaten path of the main street just behind the big white hotel, this is where the foodies eat!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Delicious, fresh Asian-inspired seafood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

We visited Eli's in July, and we are absolutely glad we did! Try the tuna nachos, you won't regret it. For my entree, I had the halibut kabayaki, and it was, hands down, the best dinner I had on the island (despite many other top contenders). I'd recommend to all BI visitors.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eli's also viewed

 

Been to Eli's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eli's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.