We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place off the ocean path...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bethany's Airport Diner

Bethany's Airport Diner
1 Center Rd. Block Island, RI, Block Island, RI 02807
401-466-3100
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 55 Restaurants in Block Island
Price range: $0 - $10
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch
Plainville, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great Place off the ocean path...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

We stopped here for lunch the other day. We were out for a bikeride around the island and this was close by. Nothing fancy but their clam chowder is amazing!!! It was fun to watch the planes come in and take off while eating lunch. Something different when you do not want to be at the beach.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    13
    6
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A must for every visit!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

Go for the full throttle! You get a little bit of everything, and everything is delicious. We love watching the planes take off and land while eating a great breakfast.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston, Connecticut
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Funky place right out of the fifties!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

My husband and I found this place when we took a ten mile walking tour and got caught in a downpour! What a lucky find...award-winning clam chowder was wonderful, but get there early because they run out!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mystic, Connecticut
Level Contributor
98 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Quick getaway for pilots.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2012

Bethany's Airport Diner, located in the terminal at Block Island Airport, is a quick 10 minute island getaway from the hustle and bustle of the mainland. Food and service are average, but it's a great place for pilots to meet and greet. Hopefully, the red wood airplane that offered diversion for children and a great photo op will be returned in the future.

Visited May 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Can't beat the atmosphere.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

Ok, it's a diner. It's not a 5 diamond Mobil guide listing. But for breakfast or lunch, it's my favorite. And the landing and departing planes are the side show. Best breakfast that I had at Bethany's was pastrami-laced pancakes with walnut/blueberry topping. Unparalleled!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bethany's Airport Diner also viewed

Block Island, RI
 

Been to Bethany's Airport Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bethany's Airport Diner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.