We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dead on!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dead Eye Dick's

Dead Eye Dick's
218 Ocean Ave., Block Island, RI 02807
401-466-2654
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 53 Restaurants in Block Island
Price range: $16 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: One of the oldest restaurants on the island, Dead Eye Dick's was completely renovated in 2010. Now open for lunch, dinner and drinks daily. Menu focuses on fresh seafood and coastal New England cuisine. Sit on our outdoor deck overlooking New Harbor and enjoy beautiful sunset views. The indoor dining room easily accommodates large groups. Reservations available for inside only. Check out our website for menus, photos and further information.
New York
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Dead on!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

We visited Dead Eye Dick's for an evening dinner during the mid-September shoulder season. The waiter told us they would only be open for 7 more days. Despite the waning season we had an excellent experience. There were only about 6 tables seated in the whole restaurant (out on the patio recommended!). Despite the slow night, we had attentive staff, and excellent fresh food. Watching the sunset over the harbor added the needed romantic element. We had walked here from Old Harbor and found the walk back just the needed thing following our dinner. It was a little dark, but that made the walk all the more pleasant.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    47
    13
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Westchester County, New York
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Best Food on Island”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Hadn't been to Dead Eye Dicks in many years but the new owners have cetainly provided a great new fresh taste to the food and decor, in and out.

I was hopeful when the people coming out, comment about how happy we would be --their meal was great.

i went with my senior mother and my twenty something daughter which represent a range of likes and dislikes that make dining out memorable if not unpleasant if the food is bad.

At Dead Eyes, we sat on the outside deck and noted there weren't any bad seats. all had a great view of the New Harbor and the boats at Paynes Marina. We enjoyed warching the Cormorants put on an acquatic show during our meal. While we didnt eat inside, it looked open, fresh and airy. We found the menu varied and interesting without straying too far from our comfort zone, and amazingly delicious--yes all three of us loved our meals -- a first anywhere but surely on Block Island.

The waiter was friendly and very informative, seeming to honestly enjoy his work, an occurance not often found at the tourist sites. Can't wait to go back next summer, it is the first place we will go out to eat. i recommend anyone eat here and over the time your visiting the island go back more than once.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Delicious food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Great view of Paynes Harbor and delicious grub. The fries are yummy! Teryaki sandwich: A+ Sit on the patio, for sure.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Best resturant on the island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012 via mobile

When first entering dead eye's i was welcomed so warmly, then had the most amazing waitress tori. Her long flowing blonde beach hair, and bright eyes made me tingle. She recommend amazing dishes like the tuna tartar, noank oysters, and swordfish. I finished my meal with the devil's food tower and a cup o' joe. Tori sat and talked with me about her ambitious life and made me want to live to love then love to live. Her energy set me through the roof. In conclusion, the food was only surpassed by the service. Please do yourself a favor eat at dead eye dick's, and look for tori.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deep River, Connecticut
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Good service and good view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

At about 3pm on a Sunday afternoon, we stumbled upon The Oar. But the wait was crazy - like 45 minutes to be seated. So we left and found Dead Eye Dick's. The deck was full, but there was nobody inside, so it really wasn't too busy. We were seated right away - no wait.

The view from the deck is of New Harbor (i.e., Great Salt Pond). It was very nice. Plus, it was shaded, so the sun wasn't overpowering.

The food was pretty good. I had a scallop po'boy, which was delicious! We also had clams, lobster bisque, and fish & chips. Everything we ordered was very good.

All-in-all, a very good experience.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dead Eye Dick's also viewed

Block Island, RI
Block Island, RI
 

Been to Dead Eye Dick's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dead Eye Dick's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.