We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Drinks and ceviche!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mohegan Cafe & Brewery

Mohegan Cafe & Brewery
213 Water Street, Block Island, RI 02807
401-466-5911
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 53 Restaurants in Block Island
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
connecticut
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Drinks and ceviche!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Wonderful in town location, large bar area and cozy booths. Always stop here for their ceviche a few times each vacation it's that good!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    98
    28
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, Rhode Island
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Good food, friendly staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

We had one lunch and one dinner at Mohegan while on Block Island for a getaway. Gluten free menu was available, which is a draw and a plus for me! Had a burger (no bun) with cheddar and grilled onions and fries. It was all good. They also brew some of their own beers and you can sample 4 for $9. That was a draw for my husband! For dinner one night, I had chicken pad thai. It was very good and a big portion, too much to finish. Both servers we had were friendly, helpful and personable. I would eat there again.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Great food...disappointing beer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

Great food but disappointing beer. (Opposite of typical brewery.) Best dishes:
* Vegetarian chili nachos with a side of fresh salsa
* Ceviche, fresh and tasty
* Scallops, the winner
Very good service, and excellent mixed drinks. Sadly, the home brewed beer was not adequately flavorful.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best place with the best prices!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Good and kind stuff, delicious food,nice wine, big portions for the good prices.And it has air condition!!!!!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Good food with varied international flavors.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

What impressed me the most about Mohegan was the diversity of menu. There were dishes with Chinese, Thai, and Indian influence along with the usual Italian and American fare. I ordered the seafood scampi, and my husband had the gang pow seafood. Both were very tasty. We have become accustomed to the bland flavors that tend to follow the usual New England resorts, so we were happily surprised by this restaurant with such varied and international influences. We will return next trip for sure.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mohegan Cafe & Brewery also viewed

Block Island, RI
Block Island, RI
 

Been to Mohegan Cafe & Brewery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mohegan Cafe & Brewery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.