We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Reasonably`priced for Block Island"” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mohegan Cafe & Brewery

Mohegan Cafe & Brewery
213 Water Street, Block Island, RI 02807
401-466-5911
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 53 Restaurants in Block Island
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
VA
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“"Reasonably`priced for Block Island"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Decent beer that they brew themselves, good food well prepared including their salad entrees. Good service and reasonable prices. A winner on Block Island.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    99
    29
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stamford, CT
Top Contributor
188 reviews 188 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“This place broke the mold of my traditional - "things to avoid".”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

This place broke the mold of my traditional - "things to avoid".
1) Avoid places that serve pasta, seafood, and steak; generally they do all three poorly. Any place that serves a little of everything, ends up not good at anything!
2) brewery restaurants are never good; generally people who eat there have no taste buds from too much alcohol.

Therefore- this place was a pleasant surprise that broke the mold...

Nice casual atmosphere.
Great service- Kate was our waitress.
Food- I knew I was in the right place when I started with a Caesar salad, and my hunch was correct; they make their own Caesar dressing with a hint of balsamic vinegar. I asked to confirm they made it there. Most restaurants stick with generic, out of the jar dressings.
The bread- they gave herb garlic butter.
The mussels Chardonnay was a great fresh starter.
Dinner- I had the special porterhouse pork chop on the bone with a horseradish orange marmalade. Great! What a wonderful surprise in a sea of tourist traps.
The king of travel gives it two thumbs up!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
enfield
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Awesome place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Some of the best food on the island. Attentive wait staff. Air conditioned if you need it!If you like microbreweries this is the place to go on the island.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Good food,nice atmosphere and reasonably priced for Block Island”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

The food, service and atmosphere were very good at this restaurant. The prices were the best we encountered on the island. There is a variety of choices from sandwiches, wraps,or entrees, all were served at dinner time. They have a nice selection of beer, more than the usual choices.If you take the ferry to the island the restaurant was right on the main street in town. They did not hurry you and were attentive.There is a small bar area as well, if you want a beverage. If you go to Block Island, this restaurant was worth stopping in for a bite and it won't drain your wallet.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Fun Atmosphere and Good Beer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

This place is a great lunch place and pub experience. The food is pretty good, but the atmosphere is so cozy and enjoyable. Feels like a fun pub experience and the beer selection is pretty good.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mohegan Cafe & Brewery also viewed

 
Block Island, RI
 

Been to Mohegan Cafe & Brewery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mohegan Cafe & Brewery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.