We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect for what it is” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Oar

The Oar
221 Jobs Hill Rd, Block Island, RI 02807
401-466-8820
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 53 Restaurants in Block Island
Price range: $7 - $15
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Boston area
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“perfect for what it is”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Although I haven't been to the Oar in several years, I give the Oar 5 stars not because of gourmet greatest, but because on a summer day on Block Island it's the exact type of fun restaurant that you want to visit. They serve pub style food with plenty of fish on the menu as well, and they have a nice selection of beer. The interior is decorated with wood paneling, open windows facing the water, and artisically decorated oars hanging everywhere on the wall. Many of the oars note historical clubs and venues for races. There are also picnic benches outside on the lawn where you can enjoy your meal... everywhere there are amazing water views. This place is great for friends, dates, large families, kids, etc.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    96
    37
    13
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Long Beach, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“last supper”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

we were there for my friends wedding rehersal dinner. great location with great atmosphere. add to the memories by bringing and decorating your own oar to add to the many already hanging. the wedding party all signed one for the bride and groom

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“You have to go here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Having a drink outside & playing cornhole on the lawn is pure summer on BI. The banana mudslide is perfect and all the sushi combo's are super tasty. The sushi is so good that we haven't really strayed and tried anything else. Everything else looks great, I don't think you can go wrong here.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, Connecticut
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Cool spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

This place is pretty interesting. The walls are covered with painted oars from people that have come and gone over the years. Not a fancy place - basically patio furniture outside, also picnic tables available. Nice spot for an afternoon mudslide while watching the boat traffic. We'll probably come back sometime.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guilford, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Loved the Decorations”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

My husband and I stopped in for a quick lunch. Both had salads. Waitress was friendlly, and accommodating when we asked to sit at the bar which overlooks the Marina. I really enjoyed the "lemonade" a vodka, cranberry juice with fizz combo.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Oar also viewed

Block Island, RI
Block Island, RI
 

Been to The Oar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Oar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.