We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool spot” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Oar

The Oar
221 Jobs Hill Rd, Block Island, RI 02807
401-466-8820
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 53 Restaurants in Block Island
Price range: $7 - $15
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Chester, Connecticut
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Cool spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

This place is pretty interesting. The walls are covered with painted oars from people that have come and gone over the years. Not a fancy place - basically patio furniture outside, also picnic tables available. Nice spot for an afternoon mudslide while watching the boat traffic. We'll probably come back sometime.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

75% Recommend
    79
    91
    35
    11
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Guilford, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Loved the Decorations”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

My husband and I stopped in for a quick lunch. Both had salads. Waitress was friendlly, and accommodating when we asked to sit at the bar which overlooks the Marina. I really enjoyed the "lemonade" a vodka, cranberry juice with fizz combo.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“On a beautiful day, you can't beat the outdoor ambiance and all those oars!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Great specialty drinks and the smell of the sea! Not gourmet by any stretch of the imagination, but fun! Better burgers can be found elsewhere...but the views here make them much easier to swallow.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dennis, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“TERRIFIC LOCATION - GREAT SUSHI”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

If you like sushi you will love this place. Their mudslides are great also. We had several meals here and weren't disappointed. Great setting on the water.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“still good but.....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

We have been fans of the Oar for years and it is a go to spot for us when ever we are on BI. Staff needs to make sure that food is warm when it comes out or not over cooked. Yes they take it back but it's not the point - and no they were not slammed the night we ate there.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Oar also viewed

 
Block Island, RI
 

Been to The Oar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Oar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.