We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No bang for the really big bucks.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Payne's Harbor View Inn

Payne's Harbor View Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Block Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Payne's Harbor View Inn
Save
You added Payne's Harbor View Inn to your Saves list
Beach Ave and Ocean Ave, Block Island, RI 02807   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 30 Block Island B&B and Inns
Croton-on Hudson, New York, USA
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“No bang for the really big bucks.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2010

This was a major disappointment. At about $300 per night, we certainly expected a much higher level of pampering. We stay all over the world, and all over the USA and when staying at pricey B&B's have come to expect as standard a full course breakfast, not serve-yourself cold cereal and toast-it-yourself bread and waffles, as well as robes in the rooms and a selection of toiletries. The folks that were running the place were very nice, and accommodating to the requests that we had (holding our luggage on checkout so we could ride bikes), and the location made walking into town and to a restaurant easy. But as three couples, with many years' experience in traveling, we all agreed that we would not return. The inn is also not air conditioned, and the evening fog made for damp sleeping.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    6
    1
    6
    2
See reviews for
6
13
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newport, RI
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2010

My husband and I stayed here for our 1 year anniversary and LOVED it!! The rooms are spacious, clean, and have a gorgeous view! We love the location which is between New Harbor and Old Harbor and close to the beach! The sushi served downstairs is fantastic as well!! The innkeepers sent dessert to our room because they learned we were celebrating our anniversary which was a pleasant surprise! We will be back for years to come!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2010

If you make a reservation here - be sure that you're going to keep it. We were supposed to stay in the hotel but I was over 9 months pregnant, ended up in the ER and had to cancel our reservation. We called two days before we were supposed to arrive and told them our situation but they charged our credit card for the room, regardless. They said, sorry - it's our policy. Needless to say, this left us with a very bad memory of the hotel - and we were really looking forward to staying here. A year later, I'm still upset about it. Just beware!

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RI and CT and NYC
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2009

What a beautiful place!! We had it all to ourselves, which we loved. Online photos don't do the place justice!!! Warm touches all over the hotel, very clean and inviting. Wish we could have stayed longer.................... Just a great place to relax and enjoy the island.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffield, CT
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2009

Great Inn, decent food, great staff, awesome views. The Inn really needs to invest in air conditioning for room 7 located on the 3rd floor. The thermostat never went below 82 in our room. My husband and I slept with 3 fans blowing on us at night. I would suggest that the Inn stop renting this room or do something to make it comfortable for their guests. We loved the new Sushi Bar. We also had room 9 on the 3rd floor. This was a great room!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2008

This was our first trip staying on the Island. Payne's Inn was wonderful. We had Room 2. It was beautiful and the view was fantastic. The Inn is decorated beautifully and it was quite clean. The breakfast was tasty and filling. There were cookies in the afternoon. We had a wonderful taxi driver Richie who recommended two great places to eat. Eli's and Windfield's. Both serve fresh vegetables and the food was delicious. Eli's only has 10 tables so get there around 6ish. I would stay away from Ballards awful service and food . Not worth it. We should have walked out! Plan to spend money on the Island, but after all it is vacation!

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2008

We were pleasantly suprised when we arrived at Payne's Harbor View Inn. The place is run well and is beyond clean. Our room was on the 3rd floor and the room and the bathroom were huge.

This is the first time I went to Block Island and I can't wait to go back and stay at Payne's Harbor View Inn. My boyfriend has been to Block Island many times and loved the Inn as well!

  • Liked — Beautiful, clean, location
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Payne's Harbor View Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Payne's Harbor View Inn

Address: Beach Ave and Ocean Ave, Block Island, RI 02807
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Block Island
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Block Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 33
Also Known As:
Payne`s Harbor View Hotel Block Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Payne's Harbor View Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.