We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great visit with baby and dog in tow!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Darius Inn

Save Saved
You added The Darius Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Darius Inn
62 Dodge Street, Block Island, RI 02807   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 30 Block Island B&B and Inns
Darien, Connecticut
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great visit with baby and dog in tow!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We did a quick, two-night getaway to Block Island and stayed at the Darius. We loved it! We booked a first floor suite which was perfect (!!) for our needs. The suite had a separate sitting room/kitchen that was ideal for our son's pack 'n play, and the kitchen w/ fridge was a huge help. The room had two porches which made for a nice area on which to sit and have some wine while the baby slept. We really enjoyed the yummy homemade breakfasts and happy hours, and Becca and Christy could not have been nicer, more accommodating or more helpful. And the in-town location (but tucked around the corner from the busy main street) is ideal for a stroller and walking to all, including Crescent Beach. We will be back!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    11
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
25
30
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Shoreham, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We spent 3 nights at the Darius Inn enjoying a girls' getaway... It is a charming,eclectic inn run by two lovely sisters,Bekka & Christy. This was my second visit to the Darius ..the sisters are willing to make your stay perfect with suggestions of where to eat, enjoy nightlife or to take in Block Island's natural beauty ... The location is perfect with across the street access to popular Crescent Beach. You are a quick walk to all BI has to offer for shopping and resturants.. The Inn is adorable with a flair of color to give a beach bungalow feel to each room. A delicious breakfast and "Happy Hour" snacks are included daily. Our suite was on the first floor with plenty of room for 4 of us. The front porch gave us lots of people watching opportunity... They are correct in saying the bathroom in suite one is small but it did not take away from our stay... Block Island is peaceful, and relaxing.. I am already looking forward to next year's return trip and will be staying at the Darius Inn again..with Bekka and Christy!

Room Tip: First floor suite one has room for a small family or friends to share (4-5people), good kitchen.. V...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnston, Rhode Island
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

My husband and I recently spent the 4th of July weekend here and from arrival to check out it was a perfect stay. The sisters were the perfect hosts anything we needed was at our door within seconds. The room was charming, cozy, and super clean! We have already booked our return visit to this inn.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Warwick, Rhode Island, United States
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

We stayed at The Darius Inn over the 4th of July weekend. i am traditionally not a fan of B&B's, but this place has changed my mind.

As others have said, the new owners are amazing! We had a two bedroom suite that was pet friendly and had a big front porch. The room slept 5 and we had 4 of us, plus our small dog and we were very happy.

The beds were amazingly comfortable, the rooms very clean. Breakfast was served each morning in the common area - and it was sooo good.

Becca and Christy make you feel a part of their family as soon as you arrive. I really can't say enough good things about them or their Inn.

The suites are not A/C'd but keep the windows open and you get a great cross breeze. You may get a little crowd noise at night when the National closes and folks head home, but nothing ridiculous.

A car is not needed to stay here, everything is within walking distance and if you want to venture to New Harbor for dinner - grab a cab!

We are booked for next year - same room - same time. Can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: The suites on the 1st floor offer fabulous front porches that are excellant for people watching or j...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

We had a fantastic few days staying here. Its a one of a kind place. The decor and overall atmosphere made for a very enjoyable stay. Beth and Christie are super-hospitable and full of knowledge about goings on on the island. We'll be back.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014 via mobile

Beth and Christie were fantastic hosts! Charming, friendly, and they made sure you had everything you needed. The place was quaint, charming, funky, comfortable and like a 2nd home. Very clean, the bedrooms had a/c and you could control the temp. Plenty of towels, beach towels, beach chairs, and an outdoor shower! The breakfasts were homey, healthy and delicious! Lots of places to relax; either on their deck or on their backyard. They also had happy hour every evening from 5:30-6:30. We'll worth the money spent here.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Greenwich, Rhode Island
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

I organized a girls weekend on Block Island and The Darius was the perfect spot. It's centrally located, the rooms are charming but modern, the extras (cocktails, breakfast) were much appreciated, and the suite was large enough for our group. Becca and Christy are thoughtful and helpful innkeepers – it's a bit like staying at someone's house, where they take care of everything. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Darius Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Darius Inn

Address: 62 Dodge Street, Block Island, RI 02807
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Block Island
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Block Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A newly renovated space in one of Block Island's iconic properties. 6 rooms & 5 suites located in town, steps from the ferry landing, & across the street from the beach. Accommodations include complimentary breakfast, happy hour, beach chairs/towels/umbrellas, TV, A/C, limited pet friendly rooms, private bathrooms, kitchenettes, ocean views, private porches, grills and exceptional service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Darius Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Darius Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.