We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem - that is not so hidden!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Darius Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added The Darius Inn to your Saves list
The Darius Inn
62 Dodge Street, Block Island, RI 02807   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 30 Block Island B&B and Inns
West Warwick, Rhode Island, United States
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem - that is not so hidden!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

We stayed at The Darius Inn over the 4th of July weekend. i am traditionally not a fan of B&B's, but this place has changed my mind.

As others have said, the new owners are amazing! We had a two bedroom suite that was pet friendly and had a big front porch. The room slept 5 and we had 4 of us, plus our small dog and we were very happy.

The beds were amazingly comfortable, the rooms very clean. Breakfast was served each morning in the common area - and it was sooo good.

Becca and Christy make you feel a part of their family as soon as you arrive. I really can't say enough good things about them or their Inn.

The suites are not A/C'd but keep the windows open and you get a great cross breeze. You may get a little crowd noise at night when the National closes and folks head home, but nothing ridiculous.

A car is not needed to stay here, everything is within walking distance and if you want to venture to New Harbor for dinner - grab a cab!

We are booked for next year - same room - same time. Can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: The suites on the 1st floor offer fabulous front porches that are excellant for people watching or j...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    11
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
26
32
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

We had a fantastic few days staying here. Its a one of a kind place. The decor and overall atmosphere made for a very enjoyable stay. Beth and Christie are super-hospitable and full of knowledge about goings on on the island. We'll be back.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014 via mobile

Beth and Christie were fantastic hosts! Charming, friendly, and they made sure you had everything you needed. The place was quaint, charming, funky, comfortable and like a 2nd home. Very clean, the bedrooms had a/c and you could control the temp. Plenty of towels, beach towels, beach chairs, and an outdoor shower! The breakfasts were homey, healthy and delicious! Lots of places to relax; either on their deck or on their backyard. They also had happy hour every evening from 5:30-6:30. We'll worth the money spent here.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Greenwich, Rhode Island
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

I organized a girls weekend on Block Island and The Darius was the perfect spot. It's centrally located, the rooms are charming but modern, the extras (cocktails, breakfast) were much appreciated, and the suite was large enough for our group. Becca and Christy are thoughtful and helpful innkeepers – it's a bit like staying at someone's house, where they take care of everything. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

We booked a room here last minute during the week, and were so disappointed that we weren't able to stay longer. The room we stayed in was perfectly decorated in shabby chic. There was an air-conditioner and private bathroom, which is not always the case on block island. The sisters that own the place were extremely accommodating, even loaning us their clam knife to use the day after we checked out and moved to a place down the street. They also helped call other properties to try to find us a room for our next night, since they were already booked. I would highly recommend this place to anyone, and would definitely stay there again on our next trip to Block Island. Thank you for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

My family (husband, mother in law, and 2.5 year old daughter) and I recently returned from a fantastic stay at the Darius Inn. It was our first trip to the island and I did a bit of searching before selecting Darius Inn. I am so glad we selected this property and will definitely return again. The service was extremely personable with lots of attention given to the "little things" that just set the vacation over the top. The daily breakfast was amazing and filled with a delicious mix of home baked breads, muffins, frittata, and fruit. Happy hour every afternoon was a great way to meet other guests and enjoy some yummy beverages with appetizers. The two sisters that run the inn are extremely friendly and felt like family by the end of the trip. We stayed in suite 3 which was super cute!!! My mother in law slept in the front room and we had the bed room. There was a pack-n-play already set up for our daughter when we arrived. We loved getting up each moving and walking down the street to get coffee, taking a little stroll on the beach, and coming back for breakfast. The grassy back yard area was a great place to relax in the afternoons. Everything about the trip was perfect! OOooh and did I mention the bed was super duper comfortable? I took note of the mattress brand and have placed it on my "wish list". I haven't slept that good in... well I can't remember when I slept that good.

Added perk- they have umbrellas, beach chairs, and towels to borrow for free! We took an umbrella and some chairs down to Ballard's one day and saved the $60 plus Ballard's would have charged us for chairs.

Room Tip: The suites are fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havertown, PA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

This inn is a great place to stay. It is a short walk from the ferry and very close to good bars and the beach. The owners, Christy and Becca take pride in this place and make sure that every guest has a nice time. They are very friendly and make a homemade breakfast in the mornings. We would recommend this place to any family/friends.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Darius Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Darius Inn

Address: 62 Dodge Street, Block Island, RI 02807
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Block Island
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Block Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A newly renovated space in one of Block Island's iconic properties. 6 rooms & 5 suites located in town, steps from the ferry landing, & across the street from the beach. Accommodations include complimentary breakfast, happy hour, beach chairs/towels/umbrellas, TV, A/C, limited pet friendly rooms, private bathrooms, kitchenettes, ocean views, private porches, grills and exceptional service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Darius Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Darius Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.