We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid at all costs!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Surf Hotel Block Island

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Surf Hotel Block Island to your Saves list
Surf Hotel Block Island
32 Dodge Street, PO Box 1888, Block Island, RI 02807   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Block Island
eastern ct
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Avoid at all costs!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Called to get a reservation. I was told that there was a room on the forth floor with a small setting room for two , twin bed. I was taking m daughter for a Mother Daughter getaway......Got there and i felt like I was staying in a SLUM, filthy room, peeling wallpaper...the setting room was down a filthy hall, tiny room.I could go on.No soap or shampoo, just horrible! Wait staff were fine, food was good, super views to bad it is under such incompetent management. They should have never opened if they were not ready to show the old lady off again!!

Room Tip: Go to another Hotel or B&B
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    8
    8
    3
    8
See reviews for
13
14
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Niantic
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Had a nice seat over-looking the beach, but that was the best thing about this dining experience. I got the fish and chips special (this is Block Island after all), and honestly, the fish was all I ate. The french fries were awful, the coleslaw, soggy and my friend's pasta salad, also uneatable. And to add insult to injury, the price of the meal was frankly, pretty darn expensive for a lunch. Was taken in by the shabby chic of the place, but it was more shabby than chic in more ways than one!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We loved the surf hotel. Authentically charming while the ocean lulls you to sleep!
Staff were friendly and knowledgeable. Brings you back to the past.
Realizing that there are keeping a relic of our past alive and well, we soaked up the loveliness, and a had strong desires for sipping tea on the picturesque views!

Room Tip: bath down the hall...but so worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, Rhode Island
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

hmmmnn....went for lunch on a sunny but brisk weekday, met the hostess on the front porch, when i requested a table in the sun on the east deck, i was told that lunch is only being served indoors or on back deck (in the shade). That i thought was odd, how much more walking would a server have to do? Not exactly catering to a customer!
Since there was a chill in the air, we ordered lobster bisque, expecting that to be AFTER our appetizer of chicken fingers and sauce. Drinks were served in plastic glasses, come on, only a few people were dining, glasses would have been nice. The bisque came next, very good but not in order requested. Chicken arrived, with dipping sauce brought over a few minutes later. Nothing to write home about. Was not impressed, but disappointed...may i also mention the lunch menu was not lengthy menu i originally viewed, but a small sampling of dishes...above diner fare.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

I called the Surf Hotel on Block Island three separate times to try to make my reservation, each time the phone recording stated "leave a message and we will call you back within 24 hours". I never heard back from anyone at all. Finally, as I got closer to the date that I wanted to book our trip, the rates for the room had gone up dramatically and when I asked the Owner why, she stated that "the rates change with lack of availabilty". So, the prices go up as they have fewer vacancies. No where on their web site do they state this. The Owner was terrible rude and this seems like extortion to me. I could only imagine how terrible the service must be as a guest there if my initial experience was this bad. I do not recommend supporting such a business with unfair business practices. Beware, this is a shady place.

Room Tip: Try the other hotel down the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chepachet
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

This is a very scenic restaurant that overlooks the ocean. A beautiful setting with great food. The swordfish tacos are the best I have ever had and the chicken sandwich and lobster roll received raving reviews by our party. Pete was our server and he is very good and attentive and makes great conversation . The prices were comparable to a beach front eatery. In building is an old hotel with beautiful decor. A must try location.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vermont
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

The Surf Hotel is like a trip back in time. The very pleasant lobby is furnished in antigues. We had a drink at the lobby bar and sat outside on the rocking chairs on the porch overloooking the beach. The rooms are small but clean and all rooms share a bath. There are no televisions and we didn't need a/c b/c of the ocean breeze. The location can't be beat. It is minutes to the ferry, shops, and restaurants. It was a unique experience and we enjoyed it.

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view room. However, island view rooms have a smal locean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Surf Hotel Block Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surf Hotel Block Island

Address: 32 Dodge Street, PO Box 1888, Block Island, RI 02807
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Block Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Block Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic Surf Hotel which reopened July 2012 is a true Victorian gem sitting on the corner of Water and Dodge Streets. The only Oceanfront hotel on Block Island with its own private beach! Located in the heart of Old Harbor, serving breakfast, lunch and dinner as well as cocktails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Surf Hotel Block Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Surf Hotel Block Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.