We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great vegetarian dish” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Harry's Restaurant

Harry's Restaurant
238 Ocean Ave., Next to the Block Island Grocery, Block Island, RI
4014668600
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 51 restaurants in Block Island
Price range: $9 - $32
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Thai, Eclectic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner
Description: An offshore Oasis for the Passionate Appetite. Enjoy our full bar, custom cocktails, wine list, craft tap beers and comfortable seating. All our food is crafted from scratch here by our team lead by Chef Trip Pearce and our hearts are in it. Fresh Seafood, legendary Pad Thai, Chowder, Salads and Desserts served nightly during the summer season from 5:30 PM - 10:30 PM. Opening in April through November. Call for off-season hours and scheule.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great vegetarian dish”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012 via mobile

I had been told ahead of time to ask for the vegetarian menu. My husband and I both ordered from it. Although he wasn't crazy about his because he prefers traditional meat and potatoes meals, I loved both our dishes and it was hard to figure which I enjoyed more! Great to have the vegetarian options!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

74% Recommend
    13
    7
    6
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sharon MA, USA
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
222 helpful votes 222 helpful votes
“obsessed with Pad Thai”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

This place has a huge sign as you walk in showing the number of Pad Thai dishes they've served this season. It was in the thousands. Of course, we ordered the dish. It was wonderful. Portions were huge -- we took half for lunch the next day.

They have a nice olive appetizer -- real middle eastern olives -- this was quite a treat on Block Island at this time of year.

background music the day we visited was 1960s/1970s R&B

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“great dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

We were late going out to dinner and ended up at Harry's that was still serving. We had a very nice seafood dinner and my Dark & Stormy was perfecto! Our server was very personable and took great care of us.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HILTON
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Nice atmosphere. Good menu. Good prices. Delicious Pad Thai. Husband had cod which was outstanding. Staff was very accomodating and friendly. Not far from downtown.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chappaqua, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Harrys is # 2 on BI...gunning for # 1 !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

I own a home on island. Harrys is listed as #14 on BI according to Tripadvisor but that does not reflect reality. Many of the establishments listed as "restaurants" are take-out shacks and coffee shops with greasy food and gruff service.

I have eaten at Harry's in 2012 at least 20 times. The food is consistently fresh, well prepared and exact;y as ordered. The "from scratch" cornbread is a terrific start and they have a smart well priced wine list.

I like the fact that they serve until 10:30 every night which is at least an hour later than any other place on island and they do not rush you out when you arrive at 10:25. (we had dinner at the Manisses last week and they turned the lights out as we were finishing our dinner!).The physical appearance is all redone and sparkling. The cathedral ceilings keep the noise level down even on a busy night. They have many booths which are super comfortable and it is a mix of people old and young, islanders and tourists.

This is owner operated on a very professional level unlike most island restaurants. They deserve to be commended publicly for serving high quality, fresh food ...and the place hums with a positive vibe.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harry's Restaurant also viewed

 
Block Island, RI
Block Island, RI
 

Been to Harry's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harry's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.