We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lively and delish” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Poor People's Pub

Poor People's Pub
33 Ocean Avenue, Block Island, RI 02807
+1 401-466-8533
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 53 Restaurants in Block Island
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Paris, France
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Lively and delish”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Loved the pulled pork which they do themselves, and this is a nice and happening place, friendly, great service which was notably minus the attitude of some other nearby restaurants. Noisy, really a neighborhood pub with very good food more than a restaurant compared to other options.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    54
    13
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Fun with good food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Good place to hang out, enjoy a brew & a bowl of excellent lobster chowder. Also ample portions of interesting stuffed calzones, salads & pizza. Great place for spending a rainy afternoon, too. Friendly servers makes you feel welcome.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Massachusetts, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great pub atmosphere, cheap food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

As expressed in the title this pub had reasonably priced food & drinks. We came here once for appetizers and drinks, and a second time for lunch during our 3 day stay on BI. The stuffies were the best I've had...

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blockhouse
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Low key, great atmosphere, happy people”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

This is not a fancy spot…but it's got great food at great prices. Side yard is great for entertaining the kids while grown ups enjoy a drink or two. Picnic tables outside are fantastic and if you get lucky they have some great outdoor music.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. George, Utah
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Not for poor people lol”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

This pub isn't for poor people or even close just average and I thought expenside but then again everything on the island is expensive but eating out is cheaper than the grocery store

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brenna A, Owner at Poor People's Pub, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Hi Lee-
We are one of the least expensive places to eat and drink on Block Island. You may not have noticed the $2 Narraganset drafts, $3 16oz PBR's or any of the 6 beers we offer for $3. We have appetizers starting at $3.50 and sandwiches from $6.
As a 'mainlander' you might overlook the fact that we must pay freight fees in order to ship & receive goods. Unfortunately, that automatically makes anything you purchase on our tiny little island more expensive than it would be in Utah. If you come to our island again, please take this into consideration otherwise you might be better off staying inland.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Poor People's Pub also viewed

Block Island, RI
Block Island, RI
 

Been to Poor People's Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Poor People's Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.