We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much more promising that it looks” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Poor People's Pub

Poor People's Pub
33 Ocean Avenue, Block Island, RI 02807
+1 401-466-8533
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 53 Restaurants in Block Island
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
“Much more promising that it looks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

This looks like a beer battered blooming onion kind of place, but it is a step up from that, and here and there they make some great dishes.

For example, their lobster roll was the best our party tasted on our off the island on our trip. Really meaty and fresh, toasted bread, not too much else, yum. They do a good job on the whole menu, but that , and a "homewrecker hotdog" were the big standouts. Don't expect too many healthy fare choices, of course. Service is efficient and warm.

In deep off season they are one of only two restaurants open, and the menu shrinks.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    54
    13
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Albany, New York
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Island hospitality at it's very best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We have visited this spot several times now and I just have to send this review along the way. The place is awesome, food is out of this world, friendly staff and the locals really do accept you here. One of the best places on the island. The local folks actully talk to you and share stories with you and actually give you great pointers about where to go and what to do while visiting the island. The Burgers are top notch and the chowder is the best. This is the place we always stop at when on the island, you should too.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basking Ridge, New Jersey
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Lobster & Corn Chowder Soup”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Our group enjoyed the build your own burger and the lobster and corn chowder soup. Creamy base with chunks of lobster! YUMMY!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holliston, Massachusetts, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Casual atmoshphere, great food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

You just have to stop here for their famous lobster and corn chowder! A meal all by itself! And your canine companion can join you on their outside patio!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamarac, Florida
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Pretzel Sticks to die for.....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Quick trip to Block Island and stumbled upon this small restaurant. Server recommended the Pretzel Sticks - and these are the most awesome appetizer. As much as I tried, I couldn't eat them all and shared with the couple at the next table, who commented that I must have seen them drooling while watching me eat. Also enjoy the stuffed Quahog - just wonderful.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Poor People's Pub also viewed

Block Island, RI
Block Island, RI
 

Been to Poor People's Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Poor People's Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.