We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Island hospitality at it's very best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Poor People's Pub

Poor People's Pub
33 Ocean Avenue, Block Island, RI 02807
+1 401-466-8533
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 50 Restaurants in Block Island
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Albany, New York
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Island hospitality at it's very best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We have visited this spot several times now and I just have to send this review along the way. The place is awesome, food is out of this world, friendly staff and the locals really do accept you here. One of the best places on the island. The local folks actully talk to you and share stories with you and actually give you great pointers about where to go and what to do while visiting the island. The Burgers are top notch and the chowder is the best. This is the place we always stop at when on the island, you should too.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    52
    13
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Basking Ridge, New Jersey
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Lobster & Corn Chowder Soup”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Our group enjoyed the build your own burger and the lobster and corn chowder soup. Creamy base with chunks of lobster! YUMMY!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holliston, Massachusetts, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Casual atmoshphere, great food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

You just have to stop here for their famous lobster and corn chowder! A meal all by itself! And your canine companion can join you on their outside patio!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamarac, Florida
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Pretzel Sticks to die for.....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Quick trip to Block Island and stumbled upon this small restaurant. Server recommended the Pretzel Sticks - and these are the most awesome appetizer. As much as I tried, I couldn't eat them all and shared with the couple at the next table, who commented that I must have seen them drooling while watching me eat. Also enjoy the stuffed Quahog - just wonderful.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Nice Find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

Someohow, we never noticed this restaurant before but stumbled upon it and we really liked the food.They have a smoker oout on the front lawn to smoke and cook their BBQ pork. My Lobster & Corn Chowder was full of large pieces of lobster meat, red potatoes and crisp, fresh kernels of local corn. My husband loved his Junk Fries appetizer that he ordered for his meal. French Fries covered in cheese, bacon, jalepenos, salsa, & scallions.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Poor People's Pub also viewed

Block Island, RI
Block Island, RI
 

Been to Poor People's Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Poor People's Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.